Receive and don’t look back…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Isaiah 6:1-7

  In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple.

  Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew.

 And one called to another and said: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!”

  And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke.

  And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”

  Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar.

  And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”

When our guilt due to our sin is taken away, why would we want it back? Why would we return to it?

   “your guilt is taken away…”

We stand before a holy God, we stand in our guilt and He tells us that our sin-caused guilt is removed.  We stand before the cross on which He died so that sin could be removed.  We stand condemned by our wrongs and He sets us free of the penalty of death and gives us life, again.  Why then would we even consider returning to our sin?

Israel did, repeatedly.  And only we know whether we continue to stand condemned or proceed in his grace to live that new life.  Let go of the past, let go of the sin.  Grasp hold of His salvation, and let the change begin and bear fruit.  What does our life testify to?  Renewal, restoration?

  “Your guilt is taken away…”

Receive and don’t look back.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a comment