Could it be that this is the Messiah?

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 4:

25The woman replied, “I know that Mashiach (Messiah)  is coming” (that is, “the one who has been anointed”). “When he comes, he will tell us everything.” 26Yeshua said to her, “I, the person speaking to you, am he.”

27Just then, his talmidim (disciples) arrived. They were amazed that he was talking with a woman; but none of them said, “What do you want?” or, “Why are you talking with her?” 28So the woman left her water-jar, went back to the town and said to the people there, 29“Come, see a man who told me everything I’ve ever done. Could it be that this is the Messiah?” 30They left the town and began coming toward him.

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.4>

  • Words in parentheses are English for the Hebrew placed by this author

“Could it be that this is the Messiah?”  One piece of evidence was all she needed.  “He told me everything I’ve ever done.”  And with this alone, words of question and prophecy, the crowd came.  Drawn to one who might be the Messiah.

‘Everyone needs someone’ the song of the people states.  That community with others, with a special someone is sought by all born into existence.  Society offers lots of ‘special’ people, celebrities to fill that void.  But it isn’t close and personal.  Christ knows each one.  That is close and personal.

The Creator knows his creation.  When the creation turns to the Creator and accepts the possibility of a relationship, the connection completes and fills the emptiness.  This satisfies the longing for that ‘someone.’

The Messiah has come.  God accepts all who believe into relationship with Him.  For some it comes simply, as this woman demonstrates.  He knows me.  For others, more is required, where is the ‘sign’?  Those who believe can speak to the truth that he is…

Pray – Lord, I am so thankful to be one of Your chosen people, part of a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to You, God, that I may declare the praise of You who called me out of darkness into Your wonderful life.

Repent – Father God, I ask you to lead me when I am blinded by ways I have not known.  My faithful Father, You’ve warned me that when pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom…Proverbs 11:2…feelings of inadequacy come on the heels of thinking I’m greater, wiser, superior in knowledge; they are arrows that penetrate because the shield is not in place; my trust has transferred from you to me and my accomplishments.  Fill my mind with assurance it was always You, never me…

Ask – Let not my heart be troubled, I believe in You and I believe you.  Lord I have heard the slander of many; at times there is terror on every side; I sometimes feel that others conspire against me and the enemy plots to take my (victorious) life.  But I trust my times are in Your hands; deliver me from my enemies (my thoughts) and from those who pursue me.  Let your face shine on Your servant; save me in Your unfailing love.

Yes – In all things I will give thanks.

Leave a Reply

