living water…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 4:

1When Yeshua (Jesus) learned that the P’rushim (Pharisees) had heard he was making and immersing more talmidim (disciples) than Yochanan (John) 2(although it was not Yeshua (Jesus) himself who immersed but his talmidim (disciples) ), 3Yeshua (Jesus) left Y’hudah (Judah) and set out again for the Galil (Galilee). 4This meant that he had to pass through Shomron.(Samaria)

5He came to a town in Shomron(Samaria) called Sh’khem, near the field Ya‘akov had given to his son Yosef. 6Ya‘akov’s Well was there; so Yeshua, (Jesus) exhausted from his travel, sat down by the well; it was about noon. 7A woman from Shomron (Samaria) came to draw some water; and Yeshua (Jesus) said to her, “Give me a drink of water.”  8 (His talmidim (disciples)  had gone into town to buy food.)  9 The woman from Shomron (Samaria) said to him, “How is it that you, a Jew, ask for water from me, a woman of Shomron (Samaria)?” (For Jews don’t associate with people from Shomron(Samaria).) 10 Yeshua (Jesus) answered her, “If you knew God’s gift, that is, who it is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink of water,’ then you would have asked him; and he would have given you living water.”

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.4>

bushkill-falls

Water gives life, without water there is no life.  What then is the difference between water from the well and water Christ gives?  One is temporal and one is eternal.  One is of the earth and the other is of heaven.  One relieves the physical thirst, the other relieves spiritual thirst.  Christ made it possible for mankind to once more be blessed in the spirit with life eternal.  This water, the Holy Spirit, fills up and satisfies mankind’s quest for spiritual life and completeness.

Christ was physically weary yet still had living water to give to this woman.

Pray – Fill me up, Lord.  I lift my cup, Lord; come and quench this thirsting of my soul.  Bread of heaven feed me till I want no more, fill me up and make me whole.

Repent – I repent for those times I relied on ‘physical’ water to satisfy spiritual thirst.

Ask – As the deer longs for running streams, God, I long for you.  I am thirsty for God, for the living God! Deep is calling to deep at the thunder of your waterfalls;

Yes – all your surging rapids and waves are sweeping over me.

John 4 and Psalms 42:2; 42:8

Leave a Reply

