water that springs eternal…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 4:

11She said to him, “Sir, you don’t have a bucket, and the well is deep; so where do you get this ‘living water’? 12You aren’t greater than our father Ya‘akov (Jacob), are you? He gave us this well and drank from it, and so did his sons and his cattle.” 13Yeshua (Jesus) answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again, 14but whoever drinks the water I will give him will never be thirsty again! On the contrary, the water I give him will become a spring of water inside him, welling up into eternal life!”

15“Sir, give me this water,” the woman said to him, “so that I won’t have to be thirsty and keep coming here to draw water.” 16He said to her, “Go, call your husband, and come back.” 17She answered, “I don’t have a husband.” Yeshua  (Jesus) said to her, “You’re right, you don’t have a husband! 18You’ve had five husbands in the past, and you’re not married to the man you’re living with now! You’ve spoken the truth!”

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.4>

*words in parentheses are English for the Hebrew added by this author.

Water of life, knowledge, mind -set, a mix of spiritual and natural.  The place of operation for most, understandably so, is in the present and of the physical realm, the natural.  Jesus points to another realm that spans time – has no time – and functions in the spiritual.

hp00676

Water.  Physical water satisfies thirst.  However, the thirst returns for the water is used up.  Spiritual water satisfies the soul and spirit and does not get used up rather becomes a stream of life-giving water.  Both, physical and spiritual give life.

Reflection demands assurance that the life-giving, eternal flow of water is present in the believer.  This flow will not damage but heal.

Pray – Lord, you alone are my shepherd; I lack nothing.  You have me lie down in green pastures feeding me your word, and You lead me by quiet water, You restore my inner person.

Repent – True, I was born guilty, was a sinner from the moment my mother conceived me.

Ask – Guide me in right paths for the sake of your name.  Create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit in me.

Yes – Goodness and grace will pursue me every day of my life; and I will live in the house of the Lord for years and years to come.

Source:  John 4 and Psalms 23; image and song eHymnbook.org

 

Leave a Reply

