sent ahead…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 3:

25A discussion arose between some of Yochanan’s (John) talmidim (disciple) and a Judean about ceremonial washing; 26and they came to Yochanan  (John) and said to him, “Rabbi, you know the man who was with you on the other side of the Yarden,(Jordan) the one you spoke about? Well, here he is, immersing; and everyone is going to him!” 27Yochanan answered, “No one can receive anything unless it has been given to him from Heaven. 28You yourselves can confirm that I did not say I was the Messiah, but that I have been sent ahead of him. 29The bridegroom is the one who has the bride; but the bridegroom’s friend, who stands and listens to him, is overjoyed at the sound of the bridegroom’s voice. So this joy of mine is now complete. 30He must become more important, while I become less important.

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.3>

*words in parentheses are English translation for the Hebrew, placed by this author

John reminds those questioning the growth of Jesus’ ministry that he came to prepare the way for the Messiah and that Jesus will increase while John decreases.  John gives a reference key to assessing if someone is righteous or not, “No one can receive anything (speaking of spiritual gifts) unless it has been given to him from Heaven.”

Sometimes the believer is “sent ahead” and is the one preparing the soil for the seed that follows.  And there may be another to harvest the fruit.  Key is faithfulness to what has been given to each to do for the kingdom.

Pray – Adonai directs a person’s steps, and he delights in his way.  He may stumble, but he won’t fall headlong for Adonai holds him by the hand.

Repent – I repent for times I take my hand from yours to strike out on my own.

Ask – As I place my hand in yours, guide me and grant increase in the efforts for the futhering of your kingdom.  I will trust in the Lord.

Yes – and do good; settle in the land, and feed on faithfulness.  I will delight myself in the Lord, and he will give my heart’s desire.

Source: John 3 and Psalms 37:23-24; 3-4

Leave a Reply

