Understanding…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 3:

9Nakdimon (Nicodemus) replied, “How can this happen?” 10Yeshua (Jesus) answered him, “You hold the office of teacher in Isra’el, and you don’t know this? 11Yes, indeed! I tell you that what we speak about, we know; and what we give evidence of, we have seen; but you people don’t accept our evidence! 12If you people don’t believe me when I tell you about the things of the world, how will you believe me when I tell you about the things of heaven? 13No one has gone up into heaven; there is only the one who has come down from heaven, the Son of Man. 14Just as Moshe (Moses) lifted up the serpent in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up; 15so that everyone who trusts in him may have eternal life.

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.3>

*Words in parentheses are the English word for the Hebrew placed by the author.

Many still do not understand things of the earth.  And miracles thrill but they are not truly understood.  Until one enters into the Spirit by believing what Jesus says, one cannot understand. Things of the Spirit confound those outside Christ.

Miracles and signs are pursued and the Christ on the cross and its message are lost.  Jesus was lifted up and gave himself for all mankind.  All mankind continues to be split between those who believe and those who do not.  Anyone who trusts in Christ may have eternal life.

Wisdom says come to God daily to worship Him and ask the Holy Spirit for understanding as one searches scripture.  Jesus is there; throughout the Word he is presented and can be seen.  Who he is and what he does informs the seeker of truth and a way of living that lasts from now till and through eternity.

Pray – Teach me, Adonai, the way of your laws; keeping them will be its own reward for me.

Repent – I repent for often seeking the ways of mankind for understanding.

Ask – Give me understanding; then I will keep your Word; I will observe it with all my heart.  Guide me on the paths of your ways for I take pleasure in it.

Yes – See how I long for your precepts; in your righteousness, give me life!

Source: John 3 and Psalms 119:34-37

Leave a Reply

