Spiritual sight…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John 3:

1There was a man among the P’rushim (Pharisee), named Nakdimon (Nicodemus), who was a ruler of the Judeans. 2This man came to Yeshua (Jesus) by night and said to him, “Rabbi, we know it is from God that you have come as a teacher; for no one can do these miracles you perform unless God is with him.” 3“Yes, indeed,” Yeshua (Jesus) answered him, “I tell you that unless a person is born again from above, he cannot see the Kingdom of God.”

4Nakdimon  (Nicodemus) said to him, “How can a grown man be ‘born’? Can he go back into his mother’s womb and be born a second time?” 5Yeshua (Jesus) answered, “Yes, indeed, I tell you that unless a person is born from water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the Kingdom of God. 6What is born from the flesh is flesh, and what is born from the Spirit is spirit. 7Stop being amazed at my telling you that you must be born again from above! 8The wind blows where it wants to, and you hear its sound, but you don’t know where it comes from or where it’s going. That’s how it is with everyone who has been born from the Spirit.”

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.3>

*Words in parentheses are English for the Hebrew placed by author

There is sight and then there is sight!   We see and navigate about our space.  We don’t necessarily pay close attention if the territory is familiar.  When it provides a challenge our vision is more acute.  And if there is the potential for danger, it is sharp.

“unless a person is born again from above, he cannot see the kingdom of God.”  The vision is limited, in fact, it is non-existent in one moving through life without knowledge of God.  If this one is born of the Spirit, however, not only do they see the kingdom, they can now enter the Kingdom.  ” unless a person is born from water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the Kingdom of God.  ”

Spiritual vision is likened to the wind.  We cannot see the wind; we do see its effects.  Spiritual birth is not seen with physical eyes but the physical individual can see its effects.  When an individual is truly born of the Spirit that will be evident to all who see them.

Ah, Lord we need to SEE!!

Pray – Born of the Spirit, I have vision greater than what I was physically born with.  Help me use it!!

Repent – I repent for times I move through my comfortable space without really looking.  I miss so much the Spirit would show me.

Ask – Wholeheartedly I am calling on you; answer me Adonai; I will keep your laws.  I am calling on you; save me; and I will observe your instructions.  I rise before dawn and cry for help; I put my hope in your word.  My eyes are open before night watches, so that I can meditate on your promises. Psalms 119:145-148

Yes – Give thanks to Adonai, for he is good for his grace continues forever.  Give thanks to the Lord of lords, for his grace continues forever. Give thanks to the God of gods, for his grace continues forever. Psalms 136:1-3

Source:  John 3 and Psalms

Leave a Reply

