I have seen and testified …

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John:

The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold! The Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world! “This is He of whom I said, ‘After me comes a Man who is preferred before me, for He was before me.’  “I did not know Him; but that He should be revealed to Israel, therefore I came baptizing with water.”  And John bore witness, saying, “I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and He remained upon Him.  “I did not know Him, but He who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘Upon whom you see the Spirit descending, and remaining on Him, this is He who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’  “And I have seen and testified that this is the Son of God.”

Eyewitness accounts passed along for the benefit of all who come after.   The Word in flesh, meant for sacrifice. The sacrifice that would atone for sin. There is a greater death than the death of this life.  The wages of sin is death; a death of separation from God for eternity.  Because Jesus came, God’s message to His creation has been carried world-wide, no longer confined to Israel.

Pray – I am so blessed for I am able to know you even from a distance in time and trust you as David did from a distance.  With David I can say “I am dying to know your salvation, my hope is in your word.

Repent – I repent for the moments of doubt that come with thoughts I have not taken captive and made obedient to You, Lord.

Ask – Teach me good judgment and knowledge, because I trust your Word.

Yes – You are good, and you do good; teach me your laws.  It is for my good that I have been humbled; it was so I could learn your laws.

Source: John and Psalms

Leave a Reply

