there stands One among you whom you do not know…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John:

Now those who were sent were from the Pharisees.And they asked him, saying, “Why then do you baptize if you are not the Christ, nor Elijah, nor the Prophet?” John answered them, saying, “I baptize with water, but there stands One among you whom you do not know.  “It is He who, coming after me, is preferred before me, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to loose.” These things were done in Bethabara beyond the Jordan, where John was baptizing.

Always looking for a sign, a validation that is sought because the ears are stopped up, the eyes are blind to what is and the mind accepts only what the flesh desires.  They are functioning on a physical, temporal plane unable to move into the spiritual realm.

The path to the Spirit and the growth of humanity’s spirit comes through the Word both living in Christ and life-giving in written form.  The finite, physical self is restricted to that which is physical until the move is made through Christ into the spiritual.

There are other paths to spirit that are not of God and that spiritual realm is not beneficial to humanity, rather, it condemns them to eternal death.  Care must be exercised to know the difference.  Angel of light but bringer of death, the enemy is a master of deception.  If the spiritual ears, eyes and minds are not informed and aware “the very elect shall be deceived”.  Feelings are not the plumb line; Christ is, as revealed in the Word.  Word made flesh.

Pray – May I ever be available to you, O Lord.  May my spiritual eyes, ears and mind be open, seeing, listening, understanding as you reveal yourself to me.  May my spirit grow, my mind be renewed as I fill it with You, Your Word.

Repent – I repent for ears that did not hear, eyes that did not see and a mind being filled with the advice and counsel outside the Word.

Ask – I am Yours; save me because I seek Your precepts.  The wicked (enemy) hope to destroy me, but I focus on Your instruction.  I see the limits of all perfection, but Your commands (Word) has no bounds.

Yes – How I love Your Word both written and in the flesh, Christ.  I meditate on it all day.  I am made wiser than my foes(the enemy) whether they come as thoughts or actions of others, because Your Words and ways are mine.  I have more understanding than all my teachers, because I meditate on Your instruction.  I understand more than my elders, because I keep Your precepts.  I keep my feet from every evil way, in order to observe Your Word.  I don’t turn from your rulings because you have instructed me.  How sweet to my tongue is your promise, truly sweeter than honey in my mouth!! From your precepts I gain understanding; this is why I hate every false way.

Source: John and Psalms 119:97-104

Leave a Reply

