In the beginning was the Word,…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

When you push back against God’s Word, you push against God.  His Word illuminates and divides right from wrong; good from evil; what is beneficial from what destroys.  When you attempt to ‘balance’ his Word with anything else, you diminish it and him.  His Word brought us into being and His Word gives us purpose – the ability to praise him.  We are blessed to have his Word in printed form; it has always existed as He has.

From John:

1In the beginning was the Word,

and the Word was with God,

and the Word was God.

2He was with God in the beginning.

3All things came to be through him,

and without him nothing made had being.

4In him was life,

and the life was the light of mankind.

5The light shines in the darkness,

and the darkness has not suppressed it.

6There was a man sent from God whose name was Yochanan. 7He came to be a testimony, to bear witness concerning the light; so that through him, everyone might put his trust in God and be faithful to him. 8He himself was not that light; no, he came to bear witness concerning the light.

9This was the true light,

which gives light to everyone entering the world.

10He was in the world — the world came to be through him —

yet the world did not know him.

11He came to his own homeland,

yet his own people did not receive him.

12But to as many as did receive him, to those who put their trust in his person and power, he gave the right to become children of God, 13not because of bloodline, physical impulse or human intention, but because of God.

14The Word became a human being and lived with us,

and we saw his Sh’khinah,

the Sh’khinah of the Father’s only Son,

full of grace and truth.

15Yochanan witnessed concerning him when he cried out, “This is the man I was talking about when I said, ‘The one coming after me has come to rank ahead of me, because he existed before me.’”

16We have all received from his fullness,

yes, grace upon grace.

17For the Torah was given through Moshe;

grace and truth came through Yeshua the Messiah.

Because of this we live, breathe, move and have our being.  Because of this we have light.  Giving warning and pointing God’s people back to Him and His Word is not to divide but to encourage, counsel, and reunite all to the Oneness of Christ, God, Holy Spirit and his body, the community of believers.  When the enemy begins to suggest there is something more than what is given; it is meant to divide.  The same deception was used in the beginning suggesting there was more than the garden, more than the life God had given.

That more brought sin; and the more sought today may lead away from not toward God.  If focus in anything shifts from God and his Word, deception has a toehold.  Be aware, be alert!

Have nothing to do with the deeds produced by darkness, but instead expose them…everything exposed to the light is revealed clearly for what it is…live wisely, not unwisely.  Use your time well…don’t be foolish but try to understand what the will of the Lord is. – Taken from Ephesians.

Pray – God, I want to imitate You as Your child.  I wish to live a life of love, just as also the Messiah loved me.  May my life be a sweet fragrance in sacrifice to You.

Repent – I repent for seeking outside of You, for fulfillment.  I repent for looking in places other than Your Word.

Ask – Your Word is honey to my lips, water to my soul. Renew my strength in keeping with your Word.  Keep deceitful ways far from me, and favor me with your law.  I choose the way of trust, faith; I set your rulings before me.  I cling to your instruction…you have broadened my understanding!

Yes – I will delight myself in your ways, in your works, which I have loved.  I will lift my hands to your ways, which I love; I will meditate on your Word.  I seek you in the morning, noon time and evening; step by step you lead me and I will follow You all my days.

Source: John and Psalms

 

 

Leave a Reply

