The voice in the wilderness continues…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From John:

18No one has ever seen God; but the only and unique Son, who is identical with God and is at the Father’s side — he has made him known.

19Here is Yochanan’s testimony: when the Judeans sent cohanim and L’vi’im from Yerushalayim to ask him, “Who are you?” 20he was very straightforward and stated clearly, “I am not the Messiah.” 21“Then who are you?” they asked him. “Are you Eliyahu?” “No, I am not,” he said. “Are you ‘the prophet,’ the one we’re expecting?” “No,” he replied. 22So they said to him, “Who are you? — so that we can give an answer to the people who sent us. What do you have to say about yourself?” 23He answered in the words of Yesha‘yahu the prophet,

“I am

The voice of someone crying out:

‘In the desert make the way of Adonai straight!’”

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/jhn.1>

Where there is famine, there is desert; where the desert is there is famine.  My people are destroyed for want of knowledge.  Because you rejected knowledge, I will also reject you as priests for me.  Because you forgot the Word of God, I will also forget your children.  There is a famine in the land; a famine of hearing the Word of God.  God’s people are starving, they prefer the junk food and sweet meats of messages that tickle their ears.

The voice in the wilderness continues to cry out in the desert ‘make  the way of the Lord straight.’  There is a continual need for the message of Jesus to be shared.  Make the message clear to all people.  Share the Word of the Gospel.  The voice did not find a need to answer the question “who are you?” rather repeatedly deflected that arrow to point it to Christ.

Enough of ‘me’ and more of ‘thee’.

Pray – I treasure Your word in my heart, so that I won’t sin against You.  Blessed are You, Adonai!

Repent – I repent for not sharing Your message as I should.  I repent for the times I closed my mouth when attacked for Your message.

Ask – Don’t take away completely my power to speak the truth; I will speak Your message without being ashamed.

Yes – Be exalted, God, above heaven!  May Your glory be over all the earth!

Source: John, Hosea and Psalms

Leave a Reply

