Submit…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

21Submit to one another in fear of the Messiah. 22Wives should submit to their husbands as they do to the Lord; 23because the husband is head of the wife, just as the Messiah, as head of the Messianic Community, is himself the one who keeps the body safe. 24Just as the Messianic Community submits to the Messiah, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/eph.5>

This is not a ‘boss’ thing.  How is Jesus the Head of the church?  We submit that authority to him.  What is His example, set for husbands to follow?  He provides, loves, gives support and looks out for the best for the group?  Husbands then, do the same for their families.  When they are true to Christ’s example it is not difficult for family, wife and children, to submit to his authority.  Being ‘boss’ distorts and subverts God’s intent for the family.

Pray – Teach me, Adonai, the way of your commands. Give me understanding so my decisions follow your will.

Repent – I repent for those times I hold back from honoring Your rightful position in my life.  I submit myself to You.

Ask – Guide me on the path of Your commands; directions that are for my benefit as I serve You.  Bend my heart toward Your instructions and not toward selfish gain, selfish will.

Yes – Fulfill Your promise; in Your righteousness, give me life!

Source: Ephesians and Psalms

Leave a Reply

