” imitate God,…”

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

So imitate God, as his dear children; 2and live a life of love, just as also the Messiah loved us, indeed, on our behalf gave himself up as an offering, as a slaughtered sacrifice to God with a pleasing fragrance. 3Among you there should not even be mentioned sexual immorality, or any kind of impurity, or greed; these are utterly inappropriate for God’s holy people. 4Also out of place are obscenity and stupid talk or coarse language; instead, you should be giving thanks. 5For of this you can be sure: every sexually immoral, impure or greedy person — that is, every idol-worshipper — has no share in the Kingdom of the Messiah and of God. 6Let no one deceive you with empty talk; for it is because of these things that God’s judgment is coming on those who disobey him. 7So don’t become partners with them!

From <https://www.bible.com/bible/1275/eph.5>

Imitating God leaves no room for what he calls sin; missing the mark of right living; the kind of living his people were created to live.  Everyone enjoys peace, encouragement, success, having plenty, being loved and accepted.  There are two methods to use to attempt to live in that place.  One is a constant effort, often at the expense of others; the other allows one to achieve that lifestyle in spite of others and circumstances; even In the midst of the storms.  Trying to get the ‘good life’ on your own efforts falls short of the goal; which is defined as a sin.  Never satisfied; always needing more.  Following God’s plan; utilizing his power brings one to a place of fulfillment even if it looks lacking.  A paradox?  Yes.  Also, following God’s plan is beneficial to others, not at their expense, pain or hurt.

Pray – Keep me, O God, on Your path.  May my life, what remains of it, be spent following Your commands and in that, may it be beneficial to those around me.

Repent – I repent for my short-comings; for those times I missed the goal because I was trying to achieve in my own abilities.

Ask – God, in Your grace, have mercy on me; in Your great compassion, blot out my crimes.  Wash me completely from my guilt, and cleanse me from my sin.

Yes – You say, “Whoever offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice honors me; and to him who goes the right way  I will show the Salvation of God.”  Thank you!!

Sources: Ephesians, Psalms 50

Leave a Reply

