“he has stamped you as his” …

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From Ephesians:

Therefore stripping off falsehood, let everyone speak truth with his neighbor, because we are intimately related to each other as parts of a body.  Be angry, but don’t sin – don’t let the sun go down before you have dealt with the cause of your anger; otherwise you leave room for the Adversary.

The thief must stop stealing; instead he should make an honest living by his own efforts.  This way he will be able to share with those in need. 

Let no harmful language come from your mouth, only good words that are helpful in meeting the need, words that will benefit those who hear them.  Don’t cause grief to God’s Ruach HaKodesh, (Holy Spirit) for he has stamped you as his property until the day of final redemption.  Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, violent assertiveness and slander, along with all spitefulness.  Instead, be kind to each other, tender-hearted; and forgive each other, just as in the Messiah God has also forgiven you.

 

Wow, a to-do list.  Those actions will naturally follow in one who loves. ” Love God,” ‘ love your neighbor” are two commands to wake with, go out and come in with, speak sitting down and getting up, place in the mind, heart,  doing of the hands and going of the feet.  Truth reigns in all that is said and done.  Jesus is truth and truth is found in Scripture.

Emotions belong to the individual, are felt but are not in the driver’s seat.  Therefore anger, the most destructive of emotions, must be dealt with, or the enemy has a toehold into the relationship and it quickly becomes a stronghold of bitterness driving believers apart.

Basic principles of good living follow with advice to work with one’s own hands and be able to assist others as a result.  Speaking only what will encourage and help others grow, showing kindness and forgiveness, all are actions that demonstrate a love for God and neighbor.  They are actions that are beneficial to the receiver and giver both.  The ‘stamp’ God places identifies who is his and can be seen by others.  It is seen by way of the actions, words and thoughts.

Pray – I pray for truth to be evident in my life.  I pray that Your stamp on me be obvious to others through my words and actions toward them.

Repent – I repent for using a sharp tongue to respond when it could have been a gentle tongue spoken with love.  I repent for the times I allow stress and fatigue to rule instead of Your love.

Ask – I lie prostrate in the dust; revive me, in keeping with Your word.  I told You of my ways and You answered me; teach me Your laws.  Make me understand the ways of Your precepts, and I will meditate on your wonders.

Yes – Father God, I praise You that the reason Jesus came was to destroy the work of the enemy.  I acknowledge that the one who keeps on sinning is from the enemy for they do not bear Your stamp.  You say no one who is born of God will continue to sin because Your seed has been planted in him.  I will make the right choices to demonstrate how much I love you and transfer that love to my neighbor as well.

Sources: Ephesians and Psalms

Leave a Reply

