Praise commensurate with His glory…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

Ephesians 1

Furthermore, you who heard the message of the truth, the Good News offering you deliverance, and put your trust in the Messiah were sealed by him with the promised Ruach HaKodesh, who guarantees our inheritance until we come into possession of it and thus bring him praise commensurate with his glory.  

Three times God tells us through Paul, we will “bring him praise commensurate with his glory.”  How do I love you, O God?  Let me count the ways and why.  You loved me first.  You planned me long before a world existed.  My heart, my core being fills up with unspoken emotion when I meditate on this.  My spirit continually seeks for more of You; more revealed in Your Word, more revealed in Your creation.  My body gets weak when I contemplate Your greatness and I am left amazed and puzzled that One so much greater than I would consider me let alone know me and love me as You do.  Who is man that You are mindful of him or the son of man that You visit him? I am forever grateful…

For this reason, ever since I heard about your trust in the Lord Yeshua, and your love for all God’s people, I have not stopped giving thanks for you.  In my prayers I keep asking the God of our Lord Yeshua the Messiah, the glorious Father, to give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you will have full knowledge of him.  I pray that he will give light to the eyes of your hearts, so that you will understand the hope to which he has called you, what rich glories there are in the inheritance he has promised his people, and how surpassingly great is his power working in us who trust him.  It works with the same mighty strength he used when he worked in the Messiah to raise him from the dead and seat him at his right hand in heaven, far above every ruler, authority, power, dominion, or any other name that can be named either in the ‘olam hazah or in the ‘olam haba.  Also, he has put all things under his feet and made him head over everything for the Messianic Community, which is his body, the full expression of him who fills all creation.

It is time, past time, to join in prayer.  It is time to pray for all God’s people to receive a spirit of wisdom and revelation; to receive the full knowledge of him; to have their eyes opened, the eyes of the heart, to understand the hope they are called to.  It is time to pray they understand the inheritance, that  his great power works in them to accomplish more than they can imagine or ask; this same power able to raise Jesus from death to life.

Pray – Father, who has given every family in heaven and on earth their name and their character, I pray to you asking that you will empower them by your Holy Spirit so that the Messiah may come to live in them through their trust and faith.

Repent – I repent for the times I feel too weary to pray for them.  I repent for the time I want to move quickly through my prayers so I can do what I want to do.

Ask – I pray that I, with all of God’s people, will be rooted and founded in love; that I and they will be given the strength to grasp the length, depth, height and width of the Messiah’s love to know it even though it is beyond all knowing that we may be filled with the fullness of You, God.

Yes – I will ever thank You for Your goodness to all mankind.  And I thank You for the answers to prayer You bring.  O God, You are my God and I will ever praise You…

Leave a Reply

