Giving Thanks for Life…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From Ephesians:

You used to be dead because of your sins and acts of disobedience.  You walked in the ways of ‘olam hazah and obeyed the Ruler of the Powers of the air, who is still at work among the disobedient.  Indeed, we all once lived this way—we followed the passions of our old nature and obeyed the wishes of our old nature and our own thoughts.  In our natural condition we were headed for God’s wrath, just like everyone else. 

We talk of our passion for this or that.  Our words betray us.  We develop habits of behavior that obey our old nature.  To break the habits takes concentrated effort and what is amazing is how God enables us to do it when we ask.  “able to accomplish way more than we can imagine or ask.”  Changing the thoughts that enter the heart and drive the actions and words  is not easily done.  With our willingness, God is able to accomplish just that.  We filled our minds with garbage, the garbage must be replaced with the pure knowledge of God through Christ and that is the purpose for immersing oneself in the scripture remembering that Jesus is the Word; He makes the Word alive and active.

Pray – How can we keep our ways pure?  By guarding them according to your word.  I seek you with all my heart; don’t let me stray from your commands. I treasure your word in my heart, so that I won’t sin against you.  Blessed are you, Adonai!

Repent – I am sorry for not asking first what you want me to do  I am sorry for the years spent in neglect of your Word for how then could I know your way except to follow others; not always a good thing…

Ask – Teach me your laws.  I proclaim with my mouth all the rulings you have spoken.

Yes – I rejoice in the way of your instruction more than any kind of wealth.  I will meditate on your precepts and keep my eyes on your ways.  I will find my delight in your regulations.  I will not forget your Word..  Your Word sets me free, your restrictions give release to move forward.  Speaking your Word, which is righteous, over temptations, which are not, places a restriction on the temptations, and releases me to move freely in Your Spirit.  Thank you!

Source:  Ephesians 2 and Psalm 119

Leave a Reply

