Praying Scripture…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

Praying scripture puts the enemy to flight and rights the thinking process which, ripple effect, will go far to right actions, feelings and desires.

The breastplate of righteousness, God’s righteousness imputed to the believer, guards the heart.  Proverbs tells the believer to guard the heart for out of it flow the issues of life. Righteousness, defined right living, guards the heart.  This righteousness is God’s given to the believer through the salvation process.  Dressing in the armor daily involves putting on the belt of truth which helps to support the breastplate of righteousness.  God’s Word provides the information, the truth, that instructs in right living.  Right living decreases the points in the believer’s life that the enemy can target.

Truth and righteousness support and protect the core of the believer’s spiritual being.  Here is the strength to stand upright and move forward, not bowed over and brought down to a standstill.  The enemy’s arrows of accusation, thrusts of deception, blows of failure cannot penetrate the breastplate supported by truth.

God’s Word is truth; God’s Word states His Righteousness is given to those who receive it.  “For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God.”  2 Corinthians 5:21.  It is a gift to the believer.  The believer becomes righteous, not on their own doing, it is the gift of God!  The believer can stand tall, supporting the breastplate with truth.  Put it on!

The lie of the enemy is that the believer cannot attain righteousness, they cannot be perfect as God is.  Therefore, why try?  Give up.  When the believer responds with the truth, they cannot but God has,  the lie often becomes a comparison with other believers; better than some, less than some.  Again the believer responds with truth that they are righteous because God is and He gave them His breastplate.  This is when the believer puts off their own concept of righteousness, their own sense of pride or defeat and takes on God’s righteousness, believing what God has said.  “Put off your old self which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and … be renewed in the spirit of your minds, … and put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”  Ephesians 4:22 – 24.  An action taken on by the believer.  Take off and put on are actions.

In prayer, ask for mercy, ask for change and stay connected.  Be aware and note when self rises up to try to resist attacks in the believer’s own strength. Pray to activate God’s power in combat.

Pray – True, I was born guilty; was a sinner from the moment my mother conceived me.  Still, You want truth in the inner person; so make me know wisdom in my inmost heart.

Repent – Lord, I repent for giving into my own feelings and acting on them.  I repent for laying aside Your righteousness continually attempting to be righteous in my own strength.

Ask – Sprinkle me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.  Let me hear the sound of joy and gladness, so that the bones You crushed can rejoice.  Turn away Your face from my sins, and blot out my crimes.  Create in me a clean heart, God; renew in me a resolute spirit.

Yes – I will praise You forever for what You have done, and I will put my hope in Your name; for this is what is good in the presence of Your faithful.

 

Psalm 51 and 52

Leave a Reply

