The Power of Peace…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans
Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

From Isaiah and Jonah:

How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, proclaiming shalom, bringing good news of good things, announcing salvation and saying to Tziyon, “Your God is King!” Listen!  Your watchmen are raising their voices, shouting for joy together.  For they will see, before their own eyes, Adonai returning to Tziyon.

human-footprints_318-46627

Out of my distress I called to Adonai, and he answered me; from the belly of Sheol I cried, and you heard my voice.  For you threw me into the deep, into the heart of the seas; and the flood enveloped me; all your surging waves passed over me.  I thought ‘I have been banished from your sight.’ But I will again look at your holy temple.  The water surrounded me, threatened my life; the deep closed over me, seaweed twined around my head.  I was going down to the bottom of the mountains, to a land whose bars would close me in forever; But you brought me up alive from the pit, Adonai, my God!  As my life was ebbing away, I remembered Adonai; and my prayer came to you, into your holy temple.

Those who worship vain idols give up their source of mercy; but I, speaking my thanks aloud, will sacrifice to you; what I have vowed I will pay.  Salvation comes from Adonai!

Then Adonai spoke…

 

In distress, the call goes out to the One who can deliver.  The situation is described, consequences named but there is still hope!  And the prayer continues in hope and ends with thanksgiving.  No matter how bad it gets, there is room to be thankful for who God is. And God answered; God delivered.  His peace within, given freely enables victory.

stephenson1

“This is how we put on the shoes of peace – we trust and express gratitude.” ArmorofGodStudy

“Note the progression: trust leads to thankfulness and gratitude activates peace.”   ArmorofGodStudy

Jonah was set free to be in motion.  He delivered God’s message and the people of Nineveh responded.  God’s judgment was withheld and His peace reigned.

“The Christian was evidently intended to be in motion, for here are shoes for his feet.”  — Charles Spurgeon

“Leap up at the sound of this promise!  Believe it.  Let it go down into your souls.  “The Lord looseth the prisoners.”  Psalm 146:7  He has come to loose you.  I can see my Master arrayed in His silk garments.  His countenance is as joyous as heaven, His face is as bright as a morning without clouds, and in his hands He holds a silver key.  ” Where are you going, my Master, with that silver key of Yours?”  I ask. “I go,” He says, “to open the door of the captive and to loosen everyone who is bound.”  Blessed Master, fulfill Your errand…”- Charles Spurgeon, Spurgeon on Prayer and Spiritual Warfare.

Pray – You, O Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God, You turn my darkness into light.  With Your help I can advance  against a troop!  Lord God, I will shout for joy when You make me victorious, and I will lift up a banner in the name of my God!  Please, Lord, grant these requests!

Repent – I repent for the times I neglected to acknowledge Your peace given to me for my benefit.  I repent for actions and words expressed in anger in response to the tension around me.

Ask- I ask, ” Do not be far from me, Lord, for trouble is near and there is no one to help…Guard my life and rescue me, O Lord, Let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in You.  I will put on Your peace and shod with that peace I will advance in calm, gentleness, compassion and love.

Yes – Let everyone who is godly pray to You while You may be found; surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach me!  You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.”  Though the enemy would try to steal my peace, my gift from You, through the actions and words of others, he will not succeed for I am hidden, surrounded and blessed by You.  I advance with the shoes of peace on my feet.  Thank you!!

Reference: Psalm 18, 20, 22, 25 and 32; Images from Google Images.

Leave a Reply

