Gather my people…

Please be more noble than those in Thessalonica. Be more like the Bereans who “searched the scriptures daily to see if these things were so.” (Acts 17:11)

Inspiration from Joel:

Gather the people; consecrate the congregation; assemble the leaders; gather the children, even infants sucking at the breast; let the bridegroom leave his room and the bride the bridal chamber.  Let the religious leaders, who serve Adonai, stand weeping between the vestibule and the altar.  Let them say, “Spare your people, Adonai!  Don’t expose your heritage to mockery, or make them a byword among the Gentile.  Why should the peoples say, “Where is their God?”  … “I will restore to you the years that the locusts ate, the grasshoppers, shearer-worms and the cutter-worms, my great army that I sent against you.  You will eat until you are satisfied and will praise the name of Adonai your God, who has done with you wonders.  Then my people will never again be shamed.  You will know that I am with Isra’el and that I am Adonai, your God, and that there is no other.  Theny my people will never again be shamed.”    

God is good and tolerates no evil…when His people followed His commands and loved Him only, giving Him due praise they were blessed.  He intervened on their behalf.  Take note…

I will extol you, O Lord, For you have lifted me up.  For the Lord Most High is awesome, He is a great King over all.  I have heard of you by the hearing of the ear.  But now my eye sees You.  Therefore I repent…I will be a doer of the Word, not a hearer, only.  Father, I ask You to help me to receive the Word of God not as the word of men, but as it actually is, the Word of God, which is at work in me as one who believes.  Help me, Father, to be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath…I give thanks always for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

