Bend our hearts…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

Hosea and Psalms are the inspiration:

When Israel was a child, I loved him; and out of Egypt I called my son.

Look at a parallel between Israel leaving Egypt for a new land where they can worship the Lord their God in freedom and  those who settled this continent joining the native already here following a call out of a place where their worship was restricted.  They sought freedom to worship God as scripture taught.  And the Lord took a child-like faith and loved them, bringing them here.

Then the changes crept in like snakes in the grass.  The more they were called to holiness the farther from it they strayed.  Gods of increase, gods of self-indulgence became their idols.  They gave homage to their increase.  God says, “Yet it was I who taught (them) to walk; I took them by their arms.  But they did not know that it was I who was healing them, who was guiding them through human means with reins made of love.  With them I was like someone removing the yoke from their jaws, and I bent down to feed them.”

He goes on to say, “He (they) will not return to the land of Egypt, but Ashur (a great barbaric nation) will be his (their) king, because they refused to repent.  The sword will fall on…cities, destroying the bars of…gates, because they follow their own advice.”

And there is a move to “return to Egypt” with the creation of a one-world government; no longer separate but equal, free from any oppression outside the nation, or sovereign leadership.  The reason for this attempt to return to Egypt is “they follow their own advice.”  There is no seeking of God; asking of His wisdom, only reliance on the strength of the nation itself and the mindset of humanism.

God states further, “My people are hanging in suspense about returning to me; and though they call them upwards, nobody makes a move.”  Word goes out to return to the God of the Word, not a man-made creation of God.  Who hears, who has ears to hear, eyes to see, a mind to know and who returns?  He states, “…how can I give you up, or surrender you?…My heart recoils at the idea, as compassion warms within me.  I will not give vent to the fierceness of my rage, I will not destroy…for I am God, not a human being, the Holy One among you; so I will not come in fury.  They will go after the Lord, who will roar like a lion; for he will roar, and the children will come trembling from the west. They will tremble like a bird as they come…, like a dove… and I will resettle them in their own houses.”  ( emphasis mine)

There is a remnant even today, even here, who faithfully seek the face of the Lord.  There are those who enter the holy place to intercede for this nation.  There are some who faithfully follow the precepts of the whole counsel of God as given to us, in love, to live expectantly of His redemption.

Teach me, Lord, the way of your laws; keeping them will be its own reward for me.  Give me understanding; then I will keep your Word; I will observe it with all my heart.  Guide me on the path of your commands, for I take pleasure in it.  Bend my heart toward your instructions not toward selfish gain.  Turn my eyes from worthless things; with your ways, give me life.  Fulfill your promise, which you made to your servant, which you made to those who fear you.  Avert the disgrace which I dread, for your rulings are good.  See how I long for your precepts; in your righteousness, give me life.

This prayer can be the call to all who believe that God is God, that he loves His people as He says and that he will take charge where they cannot.  His righteousness is made available to all through Christ.  He is not human but the Holy One.  He will respond to those who turn, who reject self-indulgence for self-control, who place their trust in Him not in the creation of their own hands.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

