Neglect precludes destruction…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome

More from Hosea:

 

My people are destroyed for want of knowledge.  Because you rejected knowledge, I will also reject you as religious leaders for me.  Because  you forgot the Word of God, I will also forget your children.  The more they increased in number, the  more they sinned against me.  I will change their glory into shame.

These same leaders feed on the sin of my people and are greedy for their crimes.  But the leader will fare no better than the people; I will punish him for his ways and pay him back for his deeds.  They will eat but not have enough ad consort with prostitutes but have no children, because they stopped listening to God.

This, spoken to Israel, could well stand true for much of Christendom today, in America.  Beware and guard the heart and mind, Christian.  It is said ‘a people without understanding will come to ruin.’   Leaving God’s Word for experiential knowledge is leaving foundational teaching…a neglected foundation will bring down the building.  The enemy knows where the most productive attack is located.  The very foundational knowledge of scripture is being left by many to go chasing after experiences.  Experiences fade; the Word stands forever.

That is not to say experiences are not given or beneficial; only that what needs to be sought after is the structural foundational knowledge of God’s Word.  The experiences are gifts, given by the Spirit to those who seek the giver; not the experience.  He is found in his Word, through prayer and revelation.  He is known by knowing who He is from the Word He has given. There will be no deception, no confusion when the genuine is known.  The counterfeit is identified by those who know the genuine.

The promise given and fulfilled is the promise of life through Christ.  “On that Day,” the Lord says, “you will call me Ishi [My Husband]; you will no longer call me Ba’al [My Master].”  Further He states, “I will betroth you to me forever, yes, I will betroth you to me in righteousness, in justice, in grace and compassion; I will betroth you to me in faithfulness, and you will  know God.”  He calls us “my people” and says we will say “you are my God.”

Paul reminds the believer not to neglect the foundational teachings.  He gives a picture of putting on the armor of God to stand today; to withstand the attacks of the enemy  in those vulnerable places.  Beware of chasing after what glitters and shines; rather than standing and digging into His Word.  The enemy disguises himself as light and children love what glitters.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

