But Lord!…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 31

 

In you, Adonai, I take refuge;

Let me never be put to shame;

In your justice, save me!

Turn your ear toward,

Come quickly to my rescue,

Be for me a rock of strength,

A fortress to keep me safe.

Since you are my rock and fortress,

Lead me and guide me for your name’s sake.

Free me from the net they have hidden to catch me,

Because you are my strength.

Into your hand I commit my spirit;

You will redeem me, Adonai, God of truth.

 

This passage above would be a great prayer to pray for Saeed and the Christians under siege in the Mid-east.

 

I hate those who serve worthless idols;

As for me, I trust in Adonai.

I will rejoice and be glad in your grace,

For you see my affliction,

You know how distressed I am.

You did not hand me over to the enemy;

You set my feet where I can move freely.

 

Show me favor, Adonai, for I am in trouble.

My eyes grow dim with anger,

My soul and body as well.

For my life is worn out with sorrow

And my years with sighing;

My strength gives out under my guilt,

And my bones are wasting away.

 

I am scorned by all my adversaries,

And even more by my neighbors;

Even to my acquaintances

I am an object of fear–

When they see me in the street,

They turn away from me.

Like a dead man, I have passed from their minds;

I have become like a broken pot.

All I hear is whispering,

Terror is all around me;

They plot together against me,

Scheming to take my life.

 

But I, I trust in you Adonai;

I say, ‘You are my God.’

My times are in your hand;

Rescue me from my enemies’ power,

From those who persecute me.

 

Make your face shine on your servant,

In your grace, save me.

Adonai, don’t let me be put to shame,

For I have called on you;

Let the wicked be put to shame,

Let them be silenced in Sh’ol.

May lying lips be struck dumb

That speak insolently against the righteous

With such pride and contempt.

 

But oh, how great is your goodness,

Which you have stored up for those who fear you,

Which you do for those who take refuge in you,

Before people’s very eyes!

In the shelter of your presence

You hide them from human plots,

You conceal them in your shelter,

Safe from contentious tongues.

 

Blessed be Adonai!

For he has shown me his amazing grace

When I was in a city under siege.

As for me, in my alarm, I said,

‘I have been cut off from your sight!’

Nevertheless you heard my pleas

When I cried out to you.

 

Love Adonai, you faithful of his.

Adonai preserves the loyal,

But the proud he repays in full.

Be strong, and fill your hearts with courage,

All of you who hope in Adonai.

 

Matthew 7:21-

 

Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven, only those who do what my Father in Heaven wants. On that Day, many will say to me ‘Lord, Lord! Didn’t we prophesy in your name? Didn’t we expel demons in your name? Didn’t we perform many miracles in your name? Then I will tell them to their faces, ‘I never knew you! Get away from me, you workers of lawlessness!

 

Taking refuge in God is by the mind, emotions, will, our soul, our spirit. This cannot be a physical refuge but a guarding of the mind especially. A guarding of the heart…out of the heart, the mouth speaks. We experience constant attack and bids for our minds, our heart. Immersed in God’s Word, immersed in him and by His Spirit we are kept true to him. Then, in that Day, we will be known by him, we will enter into his kingdom, we will not be sent away. We cannot work for our salvation, but we can work to keep our focus on him alone. David tells of his fears, his depressions, his attacks but always keeps his focus on the One who created him, can protect and provide for him. For this he was rewarded with exactly that. He made known his fears and God covered them, he made known his attacks and God fought for and with him. We have the same promise. In this relationship we know Him and He knows us. We need have no fear of being turned away in that Day.

 

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

