Be guilty of a poor and humble spirit…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Isaiah 66:1-6

Thus says the LORD: “Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool; what is the house that you would build for me, and what is the place of my rest?

 All these things my hand has made, and so all these things came to be, declares the LORD. But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.

 “He who slaughters an ox is like one who kills a man; he who sacrifices a lamb, like one who breaks a dog’s neck; he who presents a grain offering, like one who offers pig’s blood; he who makes a memorial offering of frankincense, like one who blesses an idol. These have chosen their own ways, and their soul delights in their abominations;

 I also will choose harsh treatment for them and bring their fears upon them, because when I called, no one answered, when I spoke, they did not listen; but they did what was evil in my eyes and chose that in which I did not delight.”

 Hear the word of the LORD, you who tremble at his word: “Your brothers who hate you and cast you out for my name’s sake have said, ‘Let the LORD be glorified, that we may see your joy’; but it is they who shall be put to shame.

 “The sound of an uproar from the city! A sound from the temple! The sound of the LORD, rendering recompense to his enemies!

 

 

Let us have a poor and humble spirit. Let us tremble at his word. A poor and humble spirit has an accurate sense of who God is and who they are. A person of poor and humble spirit can be led by His Spirit for theirs does not get in the way. Their pride, will and spirit is not seen as greater in their own eyes. Their conversation gives the truth to this. Those with a poor and humble spirit have few spoken ‘I’s, ‘me’s, and ‘mine’s. The name God identified himself by is the only “I am”. Those with a poor and humble spirit have submitted their will to the knowledge of the greatness of God–who He is and what He does. Are we little gods, running about with our own plans? Reread what God says; these are brothers and sisters, they are in the church.

 

“…Hear the word of the LORD, you who tremble at his word: “Your brothers who hate you and cast you out for my name’s sake have said, ‘Let the LORD be glorified, that we may see your joy’; but it is they who shall be put to shame. …”

 

Be aware, be alert, know God and follow Him only.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

