Who did this?!!!…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Isaiah 10:5-14

  Ah, Assyria, the rod of my anger; the staff in their hands is my fury!

 Against a godless nation I send him, and against the people of my wrath I command him, to take spoil and seize plunder, and to tread them down like the mire of the streets.

 But he does not so intend, and his heart does not so think; but it is in his heart to destroy, and to cut off nations not a few;

 for he says: “Are not my commanders all kings?

 Is not Calno like Carchemish? Is not Hamath like Arpad? Is not Samaria like Damascus?

 As my hand has reached to the kingdoms of the idols, whose carved images were greater than those of Jerusalem and Samaria,

  shall I not do to Jerusalem and her idols as I have done to Samaria and her images?”

 When the Lord has finished all his work on Mount Zion and on Jerusalem, he will punish the speech of the arrogant heart of the king of Assyria and the boastful look in his eyes.

  For he says: “By the strength of my hand I have done it, and by my wisdom, for I have understanding; I remove the boundaries of peoples, and plunder their treasures; like a bull I bring down those who sit on thrones.

  My hand has found like a nest the wealth of the peoples; and as one gathers eggs that have been forsaken, so I have gathered all the earth; and there was none that moved a wing or opened the mouth or chirped.”

Circumstances do not determine the condition of the heart and soul.  They do not confirm righteousness or ability.  Our heart condition, the health of our relationship with God determines that.  The king had success but deceived himself with thoughts of his own greatness and ability.  Pride goes before a fall; the greater they are the greater they fall.

We can take care of our inner self; keep it righteous in Christ, keep it tuned to the Spirit of God.  We can know who our source is and keep our thoughts and words full of His thoughts and words.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, Word Press charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

