God’s words bring peace…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 119  Sin and Shin vs 161-168

Princes persecute me without cause,

 but my heart stands in awe of your words.

 I rejoice at your word

like one who finds great spoil.

 I hate and abhor falsehood,

 but I love your law.

 Seven times a day I praise you

 for your righteous rules.

 Great peace have those who love your law;

 nothing can make them stumble.

  I hope for your salvation, O LORD,

 and I do your commandments.

 My soul keeps your testimonies;

I love them exceedingly.

 I keep your precepts and testimonies,

for all my ways are before you.

No matter what surrounds us: negativity, oppression, confrontation, all affect us but in all of it we have a deep love for the things of God.  All else will pass but His Word will not.  So we can turn from those things that would interfere with our relationship with God and ask simply for His peace; then sleep like Jesus in the boat in the middle of the storm!

When we fully realize where true power rests, when we fully realize where truth lies, all else begins to shrink in comparison.  Like a child whose world view rests on the next snack or toy; we move from immaturity to maturity in the Lord’s words.  When faced with the sure death sentence of a terminal illness we can move from self-pity and despair to the hope of our salvation; looking forward to the soon reuniting with our God!

Perspective changes attitude and feelings.  The psalmist is under attack but knows where true peace can be found; not in release from attack but in connecting with God Almighty through His Word.  Sleep in the midst of the storm–“Great peace have those who love your law.”

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

