It is wise to fear the judgment of God…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 119 Samekh vs 113-120

I hate the double-minded,

but I love your law.

You are my hiding place and my shield;

I hope in your word.

Depart from me, you evildoers,

that I may keep the commandments of my God.

Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live,

and let me not be put to shame in my hope!

Hold me up, that I may be safe

and have regard for your statutes continually!

You spurn all who go astray from your statutes,

for their cunning is in vain.

All the wicked of the earth you discard like dross,

therefore I love your testimonies.

My flesh trembles for fear of you,

and I am afraid of your judgments.

Rather than use the word judge since it has gathered so much negativity people only hear and use it in one manner; lets use discern.  The psalmist is laying out examples of discernment in action.  Avoid the double-minded.  According to this we can’t have it both ways.  We will always end up giving one of two more focus, more reliance.  And so we choose, man’s way or God’s?

Our hope is in the word of God.  God says through scripture that Christ is the way, the life and the truth.  He is called the Word made flesh.  God speaks and it is.  He says He loves us; it is so.  He says we can have a relationship with him; it is so.  This is our hope; God’s word speaks true.

We do not spend time with those who do not love God, do not live by His principles.  We, rather, spend time with Him and those who love Him and follow His word.  We can discern who they are by their actions, their daily life.

Loving God means we do not want to be found among those who don’t.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

