A lamp and a light…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 119 Nun vs 105-112

Your word is a lamp to my feet and

 a light to my path.

  I have sworn an oath and confirmed it,

 to keep your righteous rules.

 I am severely afflicted;

 give me life, O LORD, according to your word!

  Accept my freewill offerings of praise,

O LORD, and teach me your rules.

 I hold my life in my hand continually,

but I do not forget your law.

The wicked have laid a snare for me,

but I do not stray from your precepts.

  Your testimonies are my heritage forever,

for they are the joy of my heart.

 I incline my heart to perform your statutes

 forever, to the end.

In a world of darkness the light is sought.  In a world of uncertainty that which is sure is sought.  In a world of confusion, order is sought. In a world of deceit, that which is true is sought.  In a world of death, life is sought.  “Your word is a lamp…and a light…”  “give me life…according to your word…” “…the wicked have laid a snare…I do not stray from your percepts…”

We are surrounded, bombarded with multiple attempts to leave the way set before us by God every day.  These are the snares, attempts to take our minds, our thoughts captive.  Ads abound that tell us we want to remain forever young, we want to have stuff, what is important is what is new, or innovative or sexy.  These are snares that begin a mind-set that takes us away from a holy life lived for God.  They seem innocent and that is the bait.  Where they lead is toward self and selfish desires; they lead away from a desire to please the God of the universe who created us and loves us.

Being immersed in his word brings a vision that is clear, not clouded.  When one is fed daily the words of God; the snares become obvious and distasteful.  We are not the sum total of the money in our pockets.  We are created, loved beings.  “…Accept my freewill offerings of praise, O Lord, and teach me your rules.”  Rules, precepts, statutes, law are used interchangeably — all lead to sound principles to live by.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

