Comfort and hope…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 119 Zayin 45-56

 Remember your word to your servant,

 in which you have made me hope.

 This is my comfort in my affliction,

 that your promise gives me life.

 The insolent utterly deride me,

 but I do not turn away from your law.

  When I think of your rules from of old,

 I take comfort, O LORD.

Hot indignation seizes me because of the wicked,

 who forsake your law.

 Your statutes have been my songs

 in the house of my sojourning.

  I remember your name in the night,

 O LORD, and keep your law.

This blessing has fallen to me,

 that I have kept your precepts.

Here there is comfort and hope in God’s Word.  Here there is promise of life.  The word of God is held in high esteem.  Today that is not generally true with the exception of a few.  It may be spoken of with words that honor but it is not used; it is not lived.  It is often traded for words issuing from mankind.  Even in the church it is only given a passing glance as congregations lean on what the pulpit delivers rather than what the Word of God says.  Many believers could tell us very little about what is actually in the Word.  David demonstrates the opposite.  The word of God is life to him.  And to those of us who can say the same, it is encouraging to hear one who loves God’s principles as much as this passage declares.  We would do well to develop a hunger for God’s word.  

“The blessing has fallen to me, that I have kept your precepts.” 

Principles to live by that bring hope, comfort and blessings.  May we continue to find time to seek the face of God in his Word.   May we continue to thank Him for His Word and live by it daily.  Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

