Teach me, O LORD…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 119 He vs. 33-40

   

 Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes;

and I will keep it to the end.

  Give me understanding, that I may keep your law

 and observe it with my whole heart.

 Lead me in the path of your commandments,

 for I delight in it.

 Incline my heart to your testimonies,

and not to selfish gain!

 Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things;

 and give me life in your ways.

  Confirm to your servant your promise,

that you may be feared.

 Turn away the reproach that I dread,

 for your rules are good.

 Behold, I long for your precepts;

in your righteousness give me life!

Keeping ‘the way’ to the end.  Regardless of what comes our way we keep His way.  His Word has been given to us to guide us to Him and through Him we have a sure path through life here and beyond.  We are able to ask for understanding.  The Holy Spirit present in us grants us that understanding, that ability.  Have we asked for it?  Then asking, have we trusted by our reading that it will come?  Have we slowed down enough to hear, receive and understand?  Do we have a desire to know Him and a desire to follow His Word?  Can we be honest with ourselves and judge ourselves for genuine desire that demonstrates trust by giving Him our time?  Is it too much for us to give some of our time to sit and listen to Him?  How much of our time is spent looking at useless things?  How much of our time is spent looking at worthless things.

“…Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things;

 and give me life in your ways. …”

Things that turn to dust, or worse, plant seeds in us opposite to God’s teachings?  Long for Him, His Word, His righteousness ,His principles that  guide us to a full, rewarding life.

“… Behold, I long for your precepts;

in your righteousness give me life! …”

Are we seeking to get or looking for ways to give?

“… Incline my heart to your testimonies,

and not to selfish gain! …”

Let us keep His way, seek His words, meditate upon His principles making them our own manifested in our daily interactions with others.  Let us open up the way for Him to bless us and use us.

 Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes;

and I will keep it to the end.

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

