Transformed and not returning…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

II Corinthians 12:11-21

 I have been a fool! You forced me to it, for I ought to have been commended by you. For I was not at all inferior to these super-apostles, even though I am nothing.

The signs of a true apostle were performed among you with utmost patience, with signs and wonders and mighty works.

 For in what were you less favored than the rest of the churches, except that I myself did not burden you? Forgive me this wrong!

 Here for the third time I am ready to come to you. And I will not be a burden, for I seek not what is yours but you. For children are not obligated to save up for their parents, but parents for their children.

I will most gladly spend and be spent for your souls. If I love you more, am I to be loved less?

 But granting that I myself did not burden you, I was crafty, you say, and got the better of you by deceit. Did I take advantage of you through any of those whom I sent to you? I urged Titus to go, and sent the brother with him. Did Titus take advantage of you? Did we not act in the same spirit? Did we not take the same steps?  Have you been thinking all along that we have been defending ourselves to you? It is in the sight of God that we have been speaking in Christ, and all for your upbuilding, beloved.  For I fear that perhaps when I come I may find you not as I wish, and that you may find me not as you wish—that perhaps there may be quarreling, jealousy, anger, hostility, slander, gossip, conceit, and disorder.   I fear that when I come again my God may humble me before you, and I may have to mourn over many of those who sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual immorality, and sensuality that they have practiced.

Bottom line, spoken with much emotion here, is that what we were; what we practiced, what we thought prior to meeting and receiving Christ, should no longer be there.  We should be transformed in Christ, molded into His image, given His mind, His way of thinking.  Reflection is called for.  Intense searching of the inner self is required to root out those things that were laid to rest, died when we joined with Christ.  If not, we need to begin to clean house, clean out our mind and desires that do not reflect God’s ways, asking for Christ’s help.  Let’s not be making a mockery of what Christ has done for us by reverting back to that filth from which we were set free.

“…It is in the sight of God that we have been speaking in Christ, and all for your upbuilding, beloved. …”

Disclaimer:  if ads are appearing anywhere on this page it is because they are placed there by WordPress not by me.  I have read the information on ads and in order to be ad free now, WordPress charges a fee.  I apologize for any inconvenience these ads may cause you and if they are inappropriate please message me.  Thank you, gracie

Leave a Reply

