Christ foretold…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 22:9-18

But You are He who took Me out of the womb;

​​You made Me trust while on My mother’s breasts.

 ​​I was cast upon You from birth.

​​From My mother’s womb

​​You have been My God.

 ​​Be not far from Me,

​​For trouble is near;

​​For there is none to help.

 ​​Many bulls have surrounded Me;

​​Strong bulls of Bashan have encircled Me.

They gape at Me with their mouths,

​​Like a raging and roaring lion.

 ​​I am poured out like water,

​​And all My bones are out of joint;

​​My heart is like wax;

​​It has melted within Me.

​​My strength is dried up like a potsherd,

​​And My tongue clings to My jaws;

​​You have brought Me to the dust of death.

 ​​For dogs have surrounded Me;

​​The congregation of the wicked has enclosed Me.

​​They pierced My hands and My feet;

​​I can count all My bones.

​​They look and stare at Me.

​​They divide My garments among them,

​​And for My clothing they cast lots.

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Psa&c=22&t=nkjvp>

We see Jesus in David’s poetry; he is prophesied so many years in advance!  Jesus, from the line of David, born of Mary, a descendent of David, and the Son of God is seen here;  foretold by his ancestor, David who has been called a man after God’s heart.  His crucifixion and the events surrounding it are predicted and we read them here.  God speaks in many ways; can we hear, do we see, do we understand?  If not, ask him and he will bring the understanding.  It is his promise.  Are the ways of the Lord mysterious?  Are they not indicative of an awesome God?  Isn’t it amazing that we can have a relationship with Him?

Leave a Reply

