shared experiences…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 22:1-8

My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?

​​Why are You so far from helping Me,

​​And from the words of My groaning?

O My God, I cry in the daytime, but You do not hear;

​​And in the night season, and am not silent.

 ​​But You are holy,

​​Enthroned in the praises of Israel.

​​Our fathers trusted in You;

​​They trusted, and You delivered them.

 ​​They cried to You, and were delivered;

​​They trusted in You, and were not ashamed.

 ​​But I am a worm, and no man;

​​A reproach of men, and despised by the people.

 ​​All those who see Me ridicule Me;

​​They shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying,

​​“He trusted in the LORD, let Him rescue Him;

​​Let Him deliver Him, since He delights in Him!”

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Psa&c=22&t=nkjvp>

What a description of Christ and the cross!  Do we hear the words of Jesus here?  Was he, as always, repeating scripture?  Did David prophecy what would take place from his own experience and depression?

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  and “All who see me mock me; they hurl insults, shaking their heads:  ‘He trusts in the Lord; let the Lord rescue him.'”

Haven’t we all said these words at one time or another?  Can we see that Christ shared our human experiences and triumphed.  So can we…

Leave a Reply

