Forgiveness…

Ezekiel 39:21-29

I will set My glory among the nations; all the nations shall see My judgment which I have executed, and My hand which I have laid on them. 22 So the house of Israel shall know that I am the LORD their God from that day forward. 23 The Gentiles shall know that the house of Israel went into captivity for their iniquity; because they were unfaithful to Me, therefore I hid My face from them. I gave them into the hand of their enemies, and they all fell by the sword. 24 According to their uncleanness and according to their transgressions I have dealt with them, and hidden My face from them.” ’

25 “Therefore thus says the Lord GOD: ‘Now I will bring back the captives of Jacob, and have mercy on the whole house of Israel; and I will be jealous for My holy name— 26 after they have borne their shame, and all their unfaithfulness in which they were unfaithful to Me, when they dwelt safely in their own land and no one made them afraid. 27 When I have brought them back from the peoples and gathered them out of their enemies’ lands, and I am hallowed in them in the sight of many nations, 28 then they shall know that I am the LORD their God, who sent them into captivity among the nations, but also brought them back to their land, and left none of them captive any longer. 29 And I will not hide My face from them anymore; for I shall have poured out My Spirit on the house of Israel,’ says the Lord GOD.”

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=39&v=1&t=NKJVP>

A promise of forgiveness and redemption following punishment and a change in attitude.

“… all the nations shall see My judgment which I have executed…”

“…The Gentiles shall know that the house of Israel went into captivity for their iniquity; because they were unfaithful to Me,…”

“… According to their uncleanness and according to their transgressions I have dealt with them,…”

“… I will…have mercy on the whole house of Israel;…”

A child misbehaves, his or her offense is explained to them only to find them repeating the behavior.  At this point the wise parent levies the stated consequences and punishment for the misbehavior and the disobedience.  This is the model set by Almighty God in whose image we were created, that we as parents almost instinctively follow.  So then, He requires a change in behavior toward Him, one of obedience done so out of love for Him.  When that is not the case we face consequences for the actions, reap what we sow, and punishment for the disobedience.  If, however, we accept the payment for our sin by the Christ of the cross, we receive forgiveness and are gathered back to Him given a new heart and an attitude of love, repentance, and gratitude for his mercy.

“… And I will not hide My face from them anymore; for I shall have poured out My Spirit on the house of Israel,’ says the Lord GOD.”…”

We can rejoice that we have been adopted into the house of Israel through the redemption offered by Jesus on that cross!

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness…

  1. Thank God for Jesus! Thank Jesus for Jesus! Where would we be Gracie without the “forgiveness of the Cross?” How many drops of blood did He have to shed for me? How many beatings did He have to take? I wonder often, how many drops of His blood had my name on them? I know more then I care to count.

    St. Faustina always said, “God’s greatest attribute is His compassion.” One only has to look at the Cross to know how true that is.

    Excellent post and God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

