Lamenting sin’s destruction…

Ezekiel 32:1-8

And it came to pass in the twelfth year, in the twelfth month, on the first day of the month, that the word of the LORD came to me, saying, 2 “Son of man, take up a lamentation for Pharaoh king of Egypt, and say to him:

​‘​You are like a young lion among the nations,

​​And you are like a monster in the seas,

​​Bursting forth in your rivers,

​​Troubling the waters with your feet,

​​And fouling their rivers.’

3 “Thus says the Lord GOD:

​‘​I will therefore spread My net over you with a company of many people,

​​And they will draw you up in My net.

4 ​​Then I will leave you on the land;

​​I will cast you out on the open fields,

​​And cause to settle on you all the birds of the heavens.

​​And with you I will fill the beasts of the whole earth.

5 ​​I will lay your flesh on the mountains,

​​And fill the valleys with your carcass.

6 ​‘​I will also water the land with the flow of your blood,

​​Even to the mountains;

​​And the riverbeds will be full of you.

7 ​​When I put out your light,

​​I will cover the heavens, and make its stars dark;

​​I will cover the sun with a cloud,

​​And the moon shall not give her light.

8 ​​All the bright lights of the heavens I will make dark over you,

​​And bring darkness upon your land,’

​​Says the Lord GOD.

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=32&v=1&t=NKJVP>

We don’t hear much anymore about how God feels toward sin.

“…When I put out your light,…”

This is a lament for those who became so proud they denied God and claimed their achievements as the result of their own doing without the help of a Creator.  In this poem we can hear the utter distaste God holds for pride and rejection.

“…you are like a monster in the seas,

​​Bursting forth in your rivers,

​​Troubling the waters with your feet,

​​And fouling their rivers.’…”

He passes judgment and clears the land of the influence of sin upon mankind.  God has not changed, but thankfully He has provided us with the way of the cross to find redemption for the payment of sin.  He has gone to such lengths to gather his creation to himself through the sacrifice of his only Son;  and yet today we see evidence of the same pride around us in our nation.  How it should break our hearts to hear and see such disdain for the God who created them and the Lord who died and conquered sin for them.  Readings in Ezekiel continue to bring us back again and again to a place of deep gratitude for the cross and its redemption.  Thank you Jesus, and blessed be the name of the Lord.

Do you fully realize how much God loves you?

3 thoughts on “Lamenting sin’s destruction…

  1. Can we ever truly understand the depths of God’s love for us? Even when I look at the Cross and I know it is there, and in my soul I see the “love of God” I think I still do not understand the very depths of it. I have to ask myself, “Is it humanly possible for us to understand such unconditional love?” I do not know, maybe we can, maybe we do. All I know is this. I “trust” in that love for us with all of my heart. I am ever so thankful it is there. Good thought provoking post! Thanks! God Bless, SR

  2. The city of mankind has always been proud and therefore at odds with the city of God. As the story of redemption continually repeats itself in the Bible, there is no wonder that we see the same fall recurring today. We also see the same signs of divine retribution. Will we see the same signs of repentance and conversion? I certainly pray that we will. Thank you for bringing Ezekiel to bear on our consciences, Gracie! God bless!

  3. I join you in that prayer. I hunger to see a genuine move of God’s Spirit upon His people and those He calls forth. I believe it is coming and hope to see it in my time. Thank you for your words of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

