Our help comes from the Lord…

Ezekiel 29:6b – 16

​Because they have been a staff of reed to the house of Israel.

7 ​​When they took hold of you with the hand,

​​You broke and tore all their shoulders; [fn3]

​​When they leaned on you,

​​You broke and made all their backs quiver.”

8 ‘Therefore thus says the Lord GOD: “Surely I will bring a sword upon you and cut off from you man and beast. 9 And the land of Egypt shall become desolate and waste; then they will know that I am the LORD, because he said, ‘The River is mine, and I have made it.’ 10 Indeed, therefore, I am against you and against your rivers, and I will make the land of Egypt utterly waste and desolate, from Migdol [fn4] to Syene, as far as the border of Ethiopia. 11 Neither foot of man shall pass through it nor foot of beast pass through it, and it shall be uninhabited forty years. 12 I will make the land of Egypt desolate in the midst of the countries that are desolate; and among the cities that are laid waste, her cities shall be desolate forty years; and I will scatter the Egyptians among the nations and disperse them throughout the countries.”

13 ‘Yet, thus says the Lord GOD: “At the end of forty years I will gather the Egyptians from the peoples among whom they were scattered. 14 I will bring back the captives of Egypt and cause them to return to the land of Pathros, to the land of their origin, and there they shall be a lowly kingdom. 15 It shall be the lowliest of kingdoms; it shall never again exalt itself above the nations, for I will diminish them so that they will not rule over the nations anymore. 16 No longer shall it be the confidence of the house of Israel, but will remind them of their iniquity when they turned to follow them. Then they shall know that I am the Lord GOD.” ’ ”

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=29&t=NKJVP&x=6&y=9>

Israel kept returning to Egypt looking for help.  They were returning to a place of bondage seeking a former comfort zone that is not unlike being set free from the bondage to debt only to return to it after being set free, looking for it to supply a need.  When Christ sets us free, we are free indeed scripture states.

“…John 8:36  “Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed….”

We need no other for the Lord supplies our needs.  Jesus told us in Matthew that  Father God knows what we have need of and cares for us.

“…Matthew 6:25 & 26 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?   “Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?…”

We do not need to return to a place of bondage to world systems.  Israel turned her back on God and went after Egypt.  She was punished and Egypt was destroyed.  Our help comes from the Lord and not the world’s systems.

“…Psalm 121:1 and 2 A Song of Ascents. I will lift up my eyes to the hills–From whence comes my help?

My help [comes] from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth….”

One thought on “Our help comes from the Lord…

  1. The verses you quoted from Matthew have been on my mind quite a bit lately, as well as the idea of freedom from our bondage, especially as I’ve been having conversations with a friend about our respective histories with eating disorders. God did a lot of protecting in my life, so that even this type of illness never had a full grasp on me, but there are still whispers from the past, from the evil one, who wants me to try that path again. Being free in Christ means I can silence that voice, flee from it, and enjoy “safe pasture”. The ways God speaks to us, and reminds us of His truths fills me with awe. Thank you for sharing this post to remind me even more! God bless you today.

Leave a Reply

