Sowing to a hard harvest…

Ezekiel 23:22-31

“Therefore, Oholibah, thus says the Lord God: ‘Behold, I will stir up your lovers against you, From whom you have alienated yourself, And I will bring them against you from every side: 23 The Babylonians, All the Chaldeans, Pekod, Shoa, Koa, All the Assyrians with them, All of them desirable young men, Governors and rulers, Captains and men of renown, All of them riding on horses. 24 And they shall come against you With chariots, wagons, and war-horses, With a horde of people. They shall array against you Buckler, shield, and helmet all around. ‘I will delegate judgment to them, And they shall judge you according to their judgments. 25 I will set My jealousy against you, And they shall deal furiously with you; They shall remove your nose and your ears, And your remnant shall fall by the sword; They shall take your sons and your daughters, And your remnant shall be devoured by fire. 26 They shall also strip you of your clothes And take away your beautiful jewelry. 27 ‘Thus I will make you cease your lewdness and your harlotry Brought from the land of Egypt, So that you will not lift your eyes to them, Nor remember Egypt anymore.’ 28 “For thus says the Lord God: ‘Surely I will deliver you into the hand of those you hate, into the hand of those from whom you alienated yourself. 29 They will deal hatefully with you, take away all you have worked for, and leave you naked and bare. The nakedness of your harlotry shall be uncovered, both your lewdness and your harlotry. 30 I will do these things to you because you have gone as a harlot after the Gentiles, because you have become defiled by their idols. 31 You have walked in the way of your sister; therefore I will put her cup in your hand.’

Pasted from <http://www.biblestudytools.com/nkjv/ezekiel/23.html>

What seeds do we sow?  Is there any difference between our nation and Israel at this time of Ezekiel?  The message goes out – Ezekiel shared and there was time to repent.  Over and over the Bible gives us examples of what displeases our God and the consequences that follow, the fruit that comes from the seeds of discord, disrespect, disloyalty, dishonor, dishonesty… The believer repents, sits at the foot of the cross and receives forgiveness.  It rains upon us all believer and unbeliever but not all receive judgment for eternity.  We can rejoice in the knowledge we will spend our time here and forever in his presence.

2 thoughts on “Sowing to a hard harvest…

  1. When I read your comment the verse where God hates “discord among the brethren” kept coming to my mind. I came across a blog today that totally hates and I do mean hates my Church. I was reading the comments, as the post I am used to. The comments were some of the meanest people I have ever come across. Example: We have sold our souls to the devil. If a Catholic commented with Scripture about where we get this or that, then of course it was battled with another Scripture but it would begin with ha!ha!ha! etc…etc…, I am really fearful for this new generations of “Christians” coming up and I am fearful for those who do not believe like them. I think they had just as soon burn us as look at us. I cannot help it Gracie, but to me if Jesus is there, there also will be love there.

    I did not comment as it is just not worth it. Like I said, “It does make me fearful for all true “Christians.” I do not associate that with the Church they go to. These seeds these people are sowing are hate, mockery, discord, disrespect, and dishonor. To me a “true” Christian must sow the seed of love, somewhere in their lives. It bothers me. God Bless, SR

  2. I hear your heart. I am more and more distressed by the true hate language that comes from the mouth of those who call themselves Christians. Makes me want to shrink back from the name at times and that is why I choose to use the term believer more often, though that carries its own baggage as well. Scripture states out of the heart the mouth speaks. We are advised to correct each other if in error but to do so in Love. I too see a general lack of love and wonder if those who use that language truly have a relationship with our Lord. Not for me to judge, that rests with him and I’d just as soon leave it there. But also, not for me to participate in as you so wisely do not. Those are closed minds, and lack any evidence of the mind of Christ at work. He used strong language toward the Pharisee but don’t know that I would call it hateful. He wept over Jerusalem His heart had love. So should ours. He spoke and taught unity, so should we. We are unified in Him. Thanks for the comment. Take strength and hope from the love expressed by true believers of Christ.

Leave a Reply

