Rest not wrath…

Ezekiel 20:30-38

30 Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD: “Are you defiling yourselves in the manner of your fathers, and committing harlotry according to their abominations? 31 For when you offer your gifts and make your sons pass through the fire, you defile yourselves with all your idols, even to this day. So shall I be inquired of by you, O house of Israel? As I live,” says the Lord GOD, “I will not be inquired of by you. 32 What you have in your mind shall never be, when you say, ‘We will be like the Gentiles, like the families in other countries, serving wood and stone.’

33 “As I live,” says the Lord GOD, “surely with a mighty hand, with an outstretched arm, and with fury poured out, I will rule over you. 34 I will bring you out from the peoples and gather you out of the countries where you are scattered, with a mighty hand, with an outstretched arm, and with fury poured out. 35 And I will bring you into the wilderness of the peoples, and there I will plead My case with you face to face. 36 Just as I pleaded My case with your fathers in the wilderness of the land of Egypt, so I will plead My case with you,” says the Lord GOD.

37 “I will make you pass under the rod, and I will bring you into the bond of the covenant; 38 I will purge the rebels from among you, and those who transgress against Me; I will bring them out of the country where they dwell, but they shall not enter the land of Israel. Then you will know that I am the LORD.

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=20&v=1&t=NKJVP>

“the sacrifice of your sons in the fire.” 

This seems to connect to present day death of the unborn , sacrificed so the parent can continue their lifestyle unhindered.  It shows a strong sense of self; self-love, self-desire, self-guidance.  God calls it defiling self in worship to idols.  The search for personal happiness, success, pride at the expense of others is so anti-God.

“We want to be like the nations, like the peoples of the world…”

Much like the statement children would use.  There is no thought of consequences.  There is no consideration for others or the love of God.  The result of these actions is to bring the wrath of a holy God.

“I will purge you of those who revolt and rebel against me.” 

Strong words to take note of.  Do we know enough of the nature of God and the Words he has spoken to consider our own actions and words?  Are we witnesses of his love, toward us and others?  O to be sure, we are in the stress-free life of resting in his love and care rather than under his wrath.  When we walk with the Lord in the light of his word…We find peace not judgment, rest not wrath, joy not sorrow – a peace, rest, and joy the unbelieving world cannot know and we cannot explain.  But it is there…

“Then you will know that I am the Lord.”

One thought on “Rest not wrath…

Leave a Reply

