I am the Lord your God…

Ezekiel 20:1-7

It came to pass in the seventh year, in the fifth month, on the tenth day of the month, that certain of the elders of Israel came to inquire of the LORD, and sat before me. 2 Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, 3 “Son of man, speak to the elders of Israel, and say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD: “Have you come to inquire of Me? As I live,” says the Lord GOD, “I will not be inquired of by you.” ’ 4 Will you judge them, son of man, will you judge them? Then make known to them the abominations of their fathers.

5 “Say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD: “On the day when I chose Israel and raised My hand in an oath to the descendants of the house of Jacob, and made Myself known to them in the land of Egypt, I raised My hand in an oath to them, saying, ‘I am the LORD your God.’ 6 On that day I raised My hand in an oath to them, to bring them out of the land of Egypt into a land that I had searched out for them, ‘flowing with milk and honey,’ [fn1] the glory of all lands. 7 Then I said to them, ‘Each of you, throw away the abominations which are before his eyes, and do not defile yourselves with the idols of Egypt. I am the LORD your God.’

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=20&v=1&t=NKJVP>

Is there a point at which we can no longer go to the Lord?  Is there a place where we will not be able to seek his wisdom?

“…Have you come to inquire of Me? As I live,” says the Lord GOD, “I will not be inquired of by you.” ’…”

The Lord asks Ezekiel: Will you judge them?  … Who is our judge but the Sovereign Lord only:  Jesus said he did not come into the world to judge but to save.

“…John 12:47 -48 “And if anyone hears My words and does not believe, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world.  “He who rejects Me, and does not receive My words, has that which judges him–the word that I have spoken will judge him in the last day….”

The judge is the Father.  Our acceptance or rejection of Christ determines our place.  What does he see when he looks at us?  Does he see the blood of his son, Jesus?

The Lord entered into a covenant with Israel.  He would bless, they would get rid of the mind-set of Egypt ( a type of the unbelieving world).  Two parties entering into an agreement.  The Lord kept his portion; Israel did not.  They were guilty as charged and facing sure judgment. We are offered the opportunity to enter into an agreement with him.  He will bless and forgive.  He will extend mercy from the penalty of sin.  Are we keeping our half of the agreement?  Jesus said:  I know you are mine, I know you love me for you keep my commands.

“…John 15:10  When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love….”

Keeping commands is a result of the new covenant not the means to get into a righteous relationship with the Lord.  God will not be mocked.

“…Galatians  6:7   Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap….”

He extends the hand of mercy and we can accept.  But it does not stop there.  When you love someone you desire to please them.  When you accept the love of the Creator it follows that there will be a desire to please him, not ourselves.  Let us enter into a new covenant agreement and accept the payment for our sin through Jesus.  When we do we are assured of this:  He is ours and we are His.

“…I am the LORD your God.’…”

4 thoughts on “I am the Lord your God…

  1. Amen, through His blood: “He is ours and we are His”. Often if I feel stressed, I will say to myself and Him: “I am yours and You are mine”. Oh what peace fills my heart! Thanks for the reminder… ~ Wendy

  2. Wendy, there is a song I remember that goes I am my beloved’s and He is mine, His banner over me is love… Your comment put me in mind of that song. God bless you.

  3. “Keeping the commands is a result of the new Covenant not the means to get into a righteous relationship with the Lord.” That is the best way I have ever heard it stated. As I relate back to myself that is exactly what happened to me. Again, I do this God, you do that. That is not a relationship especially with God! Good insight and post. God Bless, SR

Leave a comment