An Everlasting Covenant

Ezekiel 16:60-63

“Nevertheless I will remember My covenant with you in the days of your youth, and I will establish an everlasting covenant with you. 61 Then you will remember your ways and be ashamed, when you receive your older and your younger sisters; for I will give them to you for daughters, but not because of My covenant with you. 62 And I will establish My covenant with you. Then you shall know that I am the LORD, 63 that you may remember and be ashamed, and never open your mouth anymore because of your shame, when I provide you an atonement for all you have done,” says the Lord GOD.’ ”

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Eze&c=16&v=1&t=NKJVP>

 “…I will establish an everlasting covenant with you….” 

The gift of his son, Jesus, as a sacrifice for all that’s been done, all sin,  is foretold to Israel.

“…when I provide you an atonement for all you have done,”

Lord God of Israel loves with such a great love that we can only fathom a small portion of it.  This covenant spoken of later by Jesus as a new covenant is everlasting.  Eternity begins now.  This covenant will provide atonement for all sin. And Christ came, died, rose again with a promise of life eternal for all who believe and accept his atonement.

“…you may remember and be ashamed, and never open your mouth anymore …”

Will the judging of others, the ‘I’m better than you’ end?  Will the looking down on those who don’t accept the gift of life end?

“…and never open your mouth anymore …”

This covenant is not just for the people of Israel, the chosen people of God; it is for all mankind.  The sisters, the nations around Israel, the Gentiles,  will be given to her as daughters.  Daughters who are taught what the mother knows.

“…I will give them to you for daughters, but not because of My covenant with you….” 

All of mankind is covered by the new covenant. Christ came through the chosen people not just for them but for all of God’s creation.

Can we say thank you Lord  and amen?

One thought on “An Everlasting Covenant

Leave a Reply

