Judgment or redemption?

Ezekiel 7:1-9

Moreover the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “And you, son of man, thus says the Lord GOD to the land of Israel:

​‘​An end! The end has come upon the four corners of the land.

Now the end has come upon you,

​​And I will send My anger against you;

​​I will judge you according to your ways,

​​And I will repay you for all your abominations.

​​My eye will not spare you,

​​Nor will I have pity;

​​But I will repay your ways,

​​And your abominations will be in your midst;

​​Then you shall know that I am the LORD!’

 “Thus says the Lord GOD:

​‘​A disaster, a singular disaster;

​​Behold, it has come!

 ​​An end has come,

​​The end has come;

​​It has dawned for you;

​​Behold, it has come!

Doom has come to you, you who dwell in the land;

​​The time has come,

​​A day of trouble is near,

​​And not of rejoicing in the mountains.

 ​​Now upon you I will soon pour out My fury,

​​And spend My anger upon you;

​​I will judge you according to your ways,

​​And I will repay you for all your abominations.

 ​‘​My eye will not spare,

​​Nor will I have pity;

​​I will repay you according to your ways,

​​And your abominations will be in your midst.

​​Then you shall know that I am the LORD who strikes.

This is a tough message to deliver.  No one wants to hear that bad times are coming and certainly not because of something we have done.  But on this quest to know the Lord, it is necessary to take the bitter pill with the honey.  The Lord is not to be disrespected nor is he to be rejected.  It is foolishness to bite the hand that feeds you.  He is pretty clear here:

“…​​I will judge you according to your ways,

​​And I will repay you for all your abominations….”

History tells us that for the Israelites this came to pass.  We have a saying that history repeats itself.  Therefore it is wise to take note of what happens to a people who disrespect and disregard the one who created them.  Jesus warns us of judgment: In John 9:39 he says,

 “For judgment I have come into this world, that those who do not see may see, and that those who see may be made blind.”

In Matthew 12:36 we read,

 “But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment…”

But to put balance into this picture of doom, in John 5:24 he says:

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment, but has passed from death into life….”

Take away;  God is a God who judges.  He has spoken and laws came into being.  He has spoken the punishment for breaking those laws.  God’s word is true and will not return to him void, or empty.  However, that said, He has also given a way of escape from the consequences of sin.  As always, he asks us to return to him, acknowledge him, recognize him and obey.  The conditions may be changed, with that change comes redemption.  Jesus came, died, rose again for the saying in John 5 to be true.

“Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment, but has passed from death into life.”  – Jesus

“…you shall know that I am the LORD …”  – God.

Leave a Reply

