Free to be…

Romans 8:1-17

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus,  who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.  For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.  Because the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be. So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

 But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His. And if Christ is in you, the body is dead because of sin, but the Spirit is life because of righteousness.  But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.

 Therefore, brethren, we are debtors—not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,  and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.

It appears that we have a discourse on the differences between life after Christ, that is after accepting the gift of redemption he brings, and life before Christ under law.  What characterizes life before Christ is  a mind-set that is nature based, holds a fear of God and the curse of death,  and demonstrates the failure to live right according to God’s will.  What characterizes life after Christ for the believer, is a mind-set that is now spiritual, the lack of fear as it relates to punishment for sin, and the ability to live right according to God’s will.  So do we live as we want?  Or do we live as the spirit guides us?  We are created body, soul and spirit.  What controls our actions and thoughts?  Body or spirit?  And so once again it is the difference between self will and God’s will.  We have no problem knowing what our will is, we are on a life journey to learn the will of God, who He is and what He does.  His spirit connects with ours as believers and we can place our trust there.

  “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,

We are free from the curse of sin and we are free to know and follow the will of God, rather than our own will.  It can be as simple as rising in the morning and asking what do you want me to do of God rather than what do I want to do.

3 thoughts on “Free to be…

  1. Hey Gracie,

    Am late today as had a busy morning. I want to ask you something I was thinking about today. You mentioned in this post the Holy Spirit. Do you think we also have a “divine nature” due to the Holy Spirit dwelling in us? Like Jesus had a human and a divine nature as He was both God and man? It was just a thought I had today, and would appreciate your views on it. Great post and God Bless, SR

  2. Before I attempt an answer to your question we probably need to be in agreement on the definition of ‘divine’ in the term ‘divine nature.’ I did some research using BLB (Blue Letter Bible: http://www.blueletterbible.org/index.cfm and this is what I found:
    Divine is a Greek word that defines God as spoken of the only and true God, trinity
    a) of Christ
    b) Holy Spirit
    c) the Father
    Also Vines gives an explanation for the word stating “… “divine” (from theos, “God”), is used of the power of God, 2Pe 1:3, and of His nature, ver. 4, in each place, as that which proceeds from Himself. In Act 17:29 it is used as a noun with the definite article, to denote “the Godhead,” the Deity (i.e., the one true God).”
    The three other verses given that speak of receiving or partaking of the divine nature of God are: Acts 17:29, in which the term is used as a noun. “Therefore, since we are the offspring of God, we ought not to think that the Divine Nature is like gold or silver or stone, something shaped by art and man’s devising.” 2 Peter 1:3 “…as His divine power has given to us all things that [pertain] to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue,…” and 2 Peter 1:4 “…by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption [that is] in the world through lust.”
    From this we see that His divine power gives life, godliness, and knowledge. The knowledge is specifically of Him. We are partakers of divine power as promised and we escape the corruption that is the result of lust. Lust is defined as self-driven by self desire for self pleasure or wants.

    I am the daughter of my father. I am like him in many ways as a result. I inherited genes that pre-dispose me to characteristics not of my doing they were given to me. I bear a resemblance to him and have learned mannerisms from him. However, I am not my father.
    I am the child of God through creation and through salvation received through faith in Jesus Christ. So I have received characteristics that mirror Him. I bear a resemblance to my Father, my hope is that others see Jesus in me, I have the promise that the Holy Spirit dwells in me. In that place I should have mannerisms that I am learning from my time spent with Him. But I am not my Father.

    Jesus states in John 14:10 NKJV – “Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own [authority]; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works. 11 NKJV – “Believe Me that I [am] in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves. Again in John 17 :20 NKJV – “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; 21 NKJV – “that they all may be one, as You, Father, [are] in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.
    22 NKJV – “And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one:23 NKJV – “I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me. ( Bold print mine)

    And I believe this is the mystery of which we speak so often. Can we explain this? I can’t but neither do I have to since I accept this by faith. This faith is what brings me salvation and keeps me. And I can speak personally to the truth of Romans 8:16 NKJV – “The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God,

  3. Thank you so much, once again you have helped me with my “musings.” What clicked it in for me is when you said, “I am of my Father, but I am not my Father.” That tied all the rest of it in. I thank you so much for taking the time to research and do all of this. It was something I was having difficulty trying to piece together myself. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

