Knowing makes the difference…

Romans 7:7-13

What shall we say then? Is the law sin? Certainly not! On the contrary, I would not have known sin except through the law. For I would not have known covetousness unless the law had said, “You shall not covet.” But sin, taking opportunity by the commandment, produced in me all manner of evil desire. For apart from the law sin was dead.  I was alive once without the law, but when the commandment came, sin revived and I died. And the commandment, which was to bring life, I found to bring death. For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it killed me. Therefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy and just and good.

Has then what is good become death to me? Certainly not! But sin, that it might appear sin, was producing death in me through what is good, so that sin through the commandment might become exceedingly sinful.

Essentially the, sin exists whether or not I recognize it.  And without knowledge, I am condemned, yet with knowledge I am condemned but now seek a way to be free of the condemnation.  So the law brought knowledge and a desire to be free of the sin.  But the law was simply a provider of knowledge.  It could not save.  Christ’s blood is the only sacrifice that covers the sin.  Once I realize that, I am free and now I live freed from the curse of death.  And now the question comes – what does my life look like now?  Is there evidence I have acknowledged my sin, my guilt and received my salvation?  Has it made a difference in me?  It should.  I am liberated from the stress of sin.  I am free to love, seek the good of others and for others, evidence all the fruit that comes from this freedom; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness.  Now my words are spoken in love and kindness.  Now I am free to not take offense.  Now I have confidence in who I am, not in myself, but in Him, for He is the reason I have this freedom.

Leave a Reply

