One who shares…

Acts 3:1-10

 Now Peter and John went up together to the temple at the hour of prayer, the ninth hour.  And a certain man lame from his mother’s womb was carried, whom they laid daily at the gate of the temple which is called Beautiful, to ask alms from those who entered the temple; who, seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple, asked for alms. And fixing his eyes on him, with John, Peter said, “Look at us.” So he gave them his attention, expecting to receive something from them. Then Peter said, “Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” And he took him by the right hand and lifted him up, and immediately his feet and ankle bones received strength. So he, leaping up, stood and walked and entered the temple with them—walking, leaping, and praising God. And all the people saw him walking and praising God.  Then they knew that it was he who sat begging alms at the Beautiful Gate of the temple; and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him.

 “What I have I give…”  What do we have; are we giving?  “In the name of Jesus…”  We possess the same love, same teaching, the same spirit.  Are we spreading it to others who cross our paths?  Not only was the one crippled affected, but all in the area, all who knew him and knew of him were affected and received the knowledge of what God can and will do.  Faith exercised, faith practiced, and ears listening to the Holy Spirit’s prompting shared what they had and God was glorified.  This is still the case today.  When we share what we have and know, the ‘cripples’ we are not aware of can receive healing and freedom from bondage.  Those crippled by fear, abuse, pain, lack of knowledge, poverty can all receive what they need to live a life free from bondage.  We may be the one who shares just what they need.  Listen to the voice of the Spirit, share what we know and have, see crippled souls set free from their bondage.  Be the hand that reaches out and lifts the one who is brought down by circumstances to their feet.  Then stand back and watch them leaping, walking, jumping for joy. Or join them…

Sharing a song we sing at school most every day.  As I read the scriptures this morning it came to mind naturally.  There is a touching story that goes with it.  It was posted by, uploaded by on Jan 12, 2008

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6yGfrq5Juo

Here is a song that’s also known in our family as Jessica’s song. Jessica is our daughter, and she has cerebral palsy and is unable to sit up by herself or walk or even talk intelligibly. She loves it when I sing this song to her. A friend of ours who wishes to remain nameless wrote the last three stanzas. I don’t know who wrote the first three stanza or the original melody.

Peter and John went to pray.
They met a lame man on the way.
He held out his palm
And asked for an alm
And this is what Peter did say:

Silver and gold have I none,
But such as I have give I thee;
In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth
Rise up and walk!

And he went walking,
And leaping, and praising God!
Walking, and leaping,
And praising God!
In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth
Rise up and walk!

A cripple was I for I’ve been
A captive to habits of sin.
I prayed God to help me in getting my way,
And this is what Jesus did say:

The things that you ask are to small.
They really won’t help you at all.
There’s pardon, and peace, and victory
For all who abide in My love!

Now I’m walking and leaping,
And praising God!
Walking and leaping,
And praising God!
There’s pardon and peace,
And victory for all who abide in His love!

3 thoughts on “One who shares…

  1. I was going to comment on blog, but I think I will comment about you. When I read Jessica’s song and thought about the other going on in your life, what strength there is in you. What strength you give to me. You make me so thankful, Gracie, for all that I have. Even though sometimes my trials seem very harsh to me, I can always go back to yours, and see what a wonderful Child of God you are in spite of all trials. God Bless you, and I am so thankful I found you and your blog. You touch lives! SR

  2. Do you realize how encouraging you are, SR? God is using you also, more than you realize. May His face shine upon you and give you rest and peace. You are loved, sister in Christ.

  3. You are loved as well, sister in Christ. I can only hope and pray I am as faithful to what God wants me to do, as you are. God’s face does so shine on you. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

