The Spirit of truth is…

John 16 :12-16

“I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now.  However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come.  He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. All things that the Father has are Mine. Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.

“A little while, and you will not see Me; and again a little while, and you will see Me, because I go to the Father.”

 The Spirit of truth has come.  How well do we know and experience his presence? He will guide into all truth; he will tell what is to come; he will bring glory to Christ.  We can know the spirit with which we work, the spirits with which we come into contact; are they of God or not?  Do they bring glory to self or Christ?  Does the truth they proclaim line up with the Word of God?  Jesus says the Spirit takes from what is his.  We can know His voice, we can know if what we hear is of Christ only if we know the Word of God and then we will not be deceived by another’s words.  Be immersed in the Word of God and be filled with the Spirit of God.  Then we will know the truth and be set free from deception.  It takes many forms, this deception.  Unique for each   individual.  There is one Word and one Holy Spirit. There is one Christ, and one Father.  There is one church that is the body of Christ, made up of many members.  Let us know and study the Word of God that we not be deceived.

4 thoughts on “The Spirit of truth is…

  1. I believe that the best way to not be deceived is to close relationships in the body of Christ. Koinenia (not sure of spelling). We had that yesterday at the meeting. For me it is my close relationships with the brothers I have. Dale is one.

  2. Don, thank you for the response. I agree that the close relationships we have with fellow believers can help to keep us from deception; however, I do not feel it supplants the Word of God. For it is possible for even our brothers and sisters in Christ to be deceived. We each are held personally responsible for our own knowledge of the Scripture. That and our relationship with the Holy Spirit. However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth – Jesus

  3. Good point! However, I was thinking personally of these brethren, and we all have knowledge of word of God, all at different levels and experience. However, just thought of a question. Is this the literal word of God you speak? For back in the early church, all they had was the old testament. Many of the things in old testament, though revealing Jesus Christ, were in themselves lifeless (the law) but relying on the leading of the Spirit of truth,is most important. The Scripture you quoted does not mention the literal word, but as your verse quoted it is truth that comes from Holy Spirit! (Don’t get me wrong, I am firm believer in reading and dwelling on the Scriptures. Psalm 1
    What if I am in a situation though where I can’t check my bible and I need to make a choice, what if the choice is contrary to what many believer’s would not approve. However; I believe God is guiding me, I believe you follow what is inside. You can’t go wrong following your heart, for if you fall, you are not cast down, for the Lord is the one who holds your hand.
    There were many things that Jesus hated about the pharisees, who knew the law inside out. He came to bring a new covenant. A greater covenant. Grace and Truth, i.e. Jesus.

    Of course Gracie, I obviously don’t think of you as a Pharisee.
    Just wanted to make that clear! Sometimes communication is difficult when one’s skills of writing have deteriorated.

    Talk to you again my friend,

    Don

  4. I’m with you, Don, when you speak of the lack of scripture for the early church and their reliance upon the Holy Spirit. That is also what I said in essence when I spoke of listening, “The Spirit of truth has come.  How well do we know and experience his presence? He will guide into all truth.” We have the Scriptures thanks to those who listened. Jesus said the Holy Spirit will remind us of His words and guide our understanding. I believe we can also hear from the Holy Spirit, but in that, need to be careful in our sharing. It may be personal, for our own edification and that needs to be made clear. We are also told elsewhere to seek Godly counsel. My words were to be sure the counsel we receive is in tune with what we know from our relationship with God and what we know about Him from Scriptures. For me, the Scriptures are the final say. If what I hear lines up with what I know, I receive. And what I know continually grows as I spend time with Him. This walk is a walk, a process, and it hasn’t ended.

Leave a Reply

