have love for one another…

John 13:31-38

 So, when he had gone out, Jesus said, “Now the Son of Man is glorified, and God is glorified in Him. If God is glorified in Him, God will also glorify Him in Himself, and glorify Him immediately.  Little children, I shall be with you a little while longer. You will seek Me; and as I said to the Jews, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come,’ so now I say to you. A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”

 Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, where are You going?”

Jesus answered him, “Where I am going you cannot follow Me now, but you shall follow Me afterward.”

Peter said to Him, “Lord, why can I not follow You now? I will lay down my life for Your sake.”

 Jesus answered him, “Will you lay down your life for My sake? Most assuredly, I say to you, the rooster shall not crow till you have denied Me three times. 

I am going; you must be for each other what I was for you.  Jesus loved them each deeply, shared the principles of the kingdom with them, did not let  their humanity and its hindrances come between He and they.  That same relationship he shared with them, they were to share with each other.  That same love experienced and expressed between the Lord and his disciples was to be seen between each of them for each other.  That ability to love above all else, in spite of our differences is what sets us apart from the rest of humanity.  That ability is given to us from above and in its expression, God is glorified.

 Can you disagree with someone and still love them?  Love does, and love is; love shows, and love gives.  Ultimately, it comes to what God decides.  God glorifies and is glorified.  We can be part of  it or step back away and it will still be available for someone else or us should we change our mind and choose so.  So again, can we disagree and still love?

The love that transcends all other aspects of life, the love that comes from God, is our spiritual life-blood.  It flows in us, through us, driving our actions and thoughts.  “By this all will know…” it can be seen and felt; “that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”  Through the rough places and the smooth, through times of sorrow and rejoicing, this love coming to us from the Father through Christ continues like a flowing river to all who cross our paths.

Leave a Reply

