Gracie's Quest

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Claim righteousness…

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 18:20-36

The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness;

​​According to the cleanness of my hands

​​He has recompensed me.

 ​​For I have kept the ways of the LORD,

​​And have not wickedly departed from my God.

 ​​For all His judgments were before me,

​​And I did not put away His statutes from me.

​​I was also blameless before Him,

​​And I kept myself from my iniquity.

​​Therefore the LORD has recompensed me according to my righteousness,

​​According to the cleanness of my hands in His sight.

With the merciful You will show Yourself merciful;

​​With a blameless man You will show Yourself blameless;

With the pure You will show Yourself pure;

​​And with the devious You will show Yourself shrewd.

​​For You will save the humble people,

​​But will bring down haughty looks.

For You will light my lamp;

​​The LORD my God will enlighten my darkness.

 ​​For by You I can run against a troop,

​​By my God I can leap over a wall.

As for God, His way is perfect;

​​The word of the LORD is proven;

​​He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

​​For who is God, except the LORD?

​​And who is a rock, except our God?

It is God who arms me with strength,

​​And makes my way perfect.

 ​​He makes my feet like the feet of deer,

​​And sets me on my high places.

 ​​He teaches my hands to make war,

​​So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

You have also given me the shield of Your salvation;

​​Your right hand has held me up,

​​Your gentleness has made me great.

 ​​You enlarged my path under me,

​​So my feet did not slip.

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Psa&c=18&t=nkjvp>

We are well aware of David’s sin yet he says he has not done evil.  He doesn’t stop there; he continues, “by turning away from my God.”  Sin is cast in this passage as encompassing all that constitutes turning away from God–a denial of God.  David states he has not done that and so can claim righteousness and cleanliness.  Do we see the absence of sin referenced as  obeying a list of do’s and don’ts?  When did we get away from the first commandment to love our God and the second, to love our neighbor;  when did we develop a list of criteria to be met in order to be ‘Christian’?  Non-believers can cite a list of behaviors that are expected of believers in Christ.  At what point did those behaviors become synonymous with loving Christ and accepting His salvation for us?  Something is askew here.  Twice the psalmist states “according to my righteousness; according the to the cleanness of my hands.”   Salvation brings to us His righteousness  and our hands are cleansed.  We can say this with the psalmist

“…The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness;

​​According to the cleanness of my hands…”

We become a new creature with an attitude change.

“…You have also given me the shield of Your salvation;

​​Your right hand has held me up,

​​Your gentleness has made me great.

 ​​You enlarged my path under me,

​​So my feet did not slip….”

The attitude change is what can be seen by others as evidence of the life change brought by Christ; not adherence to a list of behaviors.  That list is unique for each individual as the Holy Spirit sees fit.

With that said, look at the list of blessings that follow:

He gives life

“…For You will light my lamp;

​​The LORD my God will enlighten my darkness….”

He gives health

“…And makes my way perfect.

 ​​He makes my feet like the feet of deer,…”

He gives success

“…And sets me on my high places.

 ​​He teaches my hands to make war,

​​So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze….”

What forces of darkness are we fighting in our daily walks?  We are enabled to defeat them.

He lifts us up

“…Your right hand has held me up,

​​Your gentleness has made me great…”

He keeps us from falling

“… ​​You enlarged my path under me,

​​So my feet did not slip….”

What more could we ask for?  Stand with the psalmist and state the truth that we are changed not by what we do but by what he has done.  Blessed be the name of the Lord.

January 26, 2013 - Posted by | bible study, Encouragement from the Word, The Word in our lives | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Psalms is my favorite part of the bible to read. Your explanation of these verses made the message clearer.

    I wanted to formally bestow my nomination to you for the Blog of the Year 2012. Your blog explains and uses scripture in such an effective way that it gives clarity to the message of God.

    May God continue to bless you with an increase of light.

    Your nomination can be found here: http://wp.me/p19WAK-is

    Comment by Jade Jarvis | January 26, 2013


Leave a Reply

somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Living the Reality of Jesus

How many of us actually do?

Fine Frugality

Living Life to The Fullest ~ Simply

follow the light

Sharing God's Light

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

My Wildtree Experience

Building a business from the ground up--

In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose

By Martha L Shaw - Charleston SC - Poet, Writer, Artist

New Creations Ministries

Becoming a new creation by applying Biblical nutritional principles of 2 Corinthians 5:17

livinhope

Ministries blog and more...

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies, Devotions and Commentary

PrayerInThePark

God's People + Humility + Prayer = A NATION HEALED

Lessons Of Mercy

The failures & successes of walking out what I believe, by sharing the mercy that has made it possible.

Chris Martin Writes

Pressing more into Jesus Christ everyday

ChristianBlessings

Receive God's blessing today with......... A CLICK A BLESSING TODAY

Running the Race

The joys and trials of my life as a wife and mom, as I try to keep my eyes fixed on the author and perfecter of my faith.

Inspire My Life

devotions, photographs and epiphanies

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

Inner Angels & Enemies

Refresh Your Faith and Self-Awareness with The Water Bearer

THE ARMCHAIR APOLOGIST

Giving a Reason for the Hope that Lies within Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

