Gracie's Quest

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Can you say, “He delights in me”?

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope. Romans

Comments, thoughts and reflections welcome.

Psalm 18

I will love You, O LORD, my strength.

 ​​The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;

​​My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;

​​My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

 ​​I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised;

​​So shall I be saved from my enemies.

 ​​The pangs of death surrounded me,

​​And the floods of ungodliness made me afraid.

 ​​The sorrows of Sheol surrounded me;

​​The snares of death confronted me.

​​In my distress I called upon the LORD,

​​And cried out to my God;

​​He heard my voice from His temple,

​​And my cry came before Him, even to His ears.

Then the earth shook and trembled;

​​The foundations of the hills also quaked and were shaken,

​​Because He was angry.

 ​​Smoke went up from His nostrils,

​​And devouring fire from His mouth;

​​Coals were kindled by it.

 ​​He bowed the heavens also, and came down

​​With darkness under His feet.

 ​​And He rode upon a cherub, and flew;

​​He flew upon the wings of the wind.

 ​​He made darkness His secret place;

​​His canopy around Him was dark waters

​​And thick clouds of the skies.

 ​​From the brightness before Him,

​​His thick clouds passed with hailstones and coals of fire.

The LORD thundered from heaven,

​​And the Most High uttered His voice,

​​Hailstones and coals of fire.

 ​​He sent out His arrows and scattered the foe,

​​Lightnings in abundance, and He vanquished them.

 ​​Then the channels of the sea were seen,

​​The foundations of the world were uncovered

​​At Your rebuke, O LORD,

​​At the blast of the breath of Your nostrils.

 ​​He sent from above, He took me;

​​He drew me out of many waters.

 ​​He delivered me from my strong enemy,

​​From those who hated me,

​​For they were too strong for me.

 ​​They confronted me in the day of my calamity,

​​But the LORD was my support.

 ​​He also brought me out into a broad place;

​​He delivered me because He delighted in me.

Pasted from <http://www.blueletterbible.org/tools/printerFriendly.cfm?b=Psa&c=18&t=nkjvp>

 

O may we delight the Lord to the extent he does the same for us.  What causes that delight?  We call on Him and seek Him and no other.  What visuals we see here!  Fire-breathing , smoke billowing give images of dragons, volcanoes spewing forth, great storms.  Nothing quiet here!! Images of greatness and intent to instill awe in the observer are versed.  When the Lord comes, we know it!! So do our enemies and so does the enemy  of our soul.  What do we do under fire?  We call upon the Lord and He responds.  He is on our side because he delights in us… He delights in us because we call upon Him.

“…I will love You, O LORD, my strength.

​​The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;

​​My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;

​​My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold….”

“…​​He delivered me because He delighted in me….”

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

January 25, 2013 - Posted by | bible study, Encouragement from the Word, The Word in our lives | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Daughter of the King

Oh, the things you learn as a Daughter of the King, if only you listen.

somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Living the Reality of Jesus

How many of us actually do?

livinhope

Ministries blog and more...

Reflections in The WORD

Bible Studies, Devotions and Commentary

PrayerInThePark

God's People + Humility + Prayer = A NATION HEALED

Lessons Of Mercy

The failures & successes of walking out what I believe, by sharing the mercy that has made it possible.

8 Kids And A Business

Balancing a large family with a small business, all by God's mercy, grace and providence

Inner Angels & Enemies

Refresh Your Faith and Self-Awareness with The Water Bearer

THE ARMCHAIR APOLOGIST

Giving a Reason for the Hope that Lies within Us

Unshakable Hope

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

The Lamehousewife Blog

A place to cross paths with anyone from anywhere to chat about God, man, woman, the universe and anything in between...

greenlightlady

As a still lake reflects creation, so may our hearts reflect the Creator's glory ~ Wendy Macdonald

Faithrises

Discussions on faith and perseverance

Noellasue's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

This Day With God

He is with us along lives journey.

Biltrix

Cultural Apologetics for the New Evangelization

through Him with Him in Him

the journey of a heart

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

